All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
pregnant and IBS-D
      #89305 - 07/13/04 08:30 AM
sphincts001

Reged: 07/13/04

Hello helpforibs veterans,

Heather suggested I tap into your collective experience and wisdom. I've been coping w/IBS (usually D) for about 15 yrs. Am now 14 wks pregnant (1st time) and having chronic D (mild, at least) for the last 3 weeks. In the past I could fix things by eating nothing but rice for a few days, but I am concerned about forgoing the fetus-necessary nutrients (protein, vitamins, etc.). I'm eating IBS-safe stuff now, and while the D is mild, it isn't going away.

Also taking Precare prenatal vitamins (my dr. was hoping the calcium, which constipates patients, would fix my D but no such luck).

What's your advice? I half feel that if I can't get rid of the D by eating rice, etc., I might as well go all-out and eat beans and hamburger and cheese so at least the poor fetus will get enough protein.

(sigh) really sad when you see dog poop on the street and all you can think is, "Wouldn't it be nice to be regular?"

Thanks for your help.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: pregnant and IBS-D new
      #89312 - 07/13/04 09:00 AM
atomic rose

Reged: 06/01/04
Loc: Maine (IBS-A stable since July '05!)

Having never been pregnant, I'm probably not going to be of much help... I alternate between D and C, and what I do for the D spells is probably not going to work for you, because of the baby.

That said, I just wanted to say hi and welcome. I'm sure someone will be along who can answer your questions... it seems like we're getting a slow start on here today!

Welcome! Definitely do a board search for pregnancy new
      #89438 - 07/13/04 12:15 PM
HeatherAdministrator

Reged: 12/09/02
Loc: Seattle, WA

with no time limits on posts, and look for posts by HanSolo (a moderator with a special interest in and experience with pregnancy and IBS).

- H

--------------------