All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Fat Flush Plan, losing weight, and IBS
      #45832 - 02/20/04 04:56 AM
Lili

Reged: 02/20/04

Hi -- a newbie here. I'm 42, and was diagnosed with IBS at 10. I've been under alot of stress, and started having bad cramping/pain last november. My doctor assured me it was nothing more than my IBS acting up, and prescribed Levsin (which I've been afraid to use).

Meanwhile, my weight has been creeping up, so I started the Fat Flush plan in January. Tons of insoluble fiber, eggs, beef, no sugars, or insoluble fibers. Plus 2 tblsp of flax oil a day.

Needless to say, I've developed nearly incapacitating cramps and pain! I initially lost some weight, but now have reached a plateau.

I desparately want to lose 20 more lbs., but am in agony, wishing I had a Vicodin or some other serious pain medication. My question: can you still lose weight while eating IBS friendly foods? In theory I understand the Fat Flush principles, but after reading this site, I now understand how it mightnot be for me!

I'm so confused, I want to do the most healthy thing formy body. Any advice? And -- does Levsin cause drowsyness for most people, like some drug sites warn?

Thanks so much.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Fat Flush Plan, losing weight, and IBS new
      #45833 - 02/20/04 05:28 AM
mickeymouse

Reged: 02/02/03
Loc: Canada

Wow, this diet is definetly not IBS safe...how could you handle it??? I do not have a weight problem myself, however I have read alot of people here who have lost weight on this IBS diet. You need this soluble fibre base (rice, potatoes....) to feel good. By following the IBS diet, eating small meals throughout the day, and especially EXERCISING (must be active in some form), then the weight should come off and stabilise.

I have not heard of Levsin, but I would say some here have tried it and can let you know about it....