All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Bloating & Gas: Should I try peppermint, fennel, or acacia?
      #261164 - 05/02/06 05:59 PM
didi

Reged: 03/21/06

Hi everyone, I finally that it may be worth it to purchase some of Heather's products. I've been suffering from late afternoon and evening gas (both frequent burping and sulfuric flatulence) daily for the past year or so. For all of you experts out there, what do you recommend for my symptoms? I have read that acacia CAUSES gas for many people, and I really can't afford to have any more! Should I just stick with peppermint caps and fennel tea for now? But because I have some reflux (with my burping), is the peppermint caps safe?

Also, since I'm a starving student, does anyone know if Heather has coupons for her products?

THANK YOU!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Bloating & Gas: Should I try peppermint, fennel, or acacia? new
      #261186 - 05/02/06 07:17 PM
Gracie

Reged: 11/25/05

Are you taking any fibre supplements right now? If not, you may want to try one, but you have to start with a small dose and work your way up or else you will get very gassy for a while until your body adjusts.

I don't have any reflux problems but the peppermint caps cause me to burp all day long. You may want to start out with the fennel tea first instead of the caps and see how it goes.

#261204 - 05/02/06 08:26 PM
Betharoo

Reged: 01/28/05
Loc: Ontario, Canada

simethicone capsules (generic gas-x) have helped with my gas quite a bit. Fennel tea is good as well. I have not tried anything peppermint because i have GERD. I don't think Heather has coupons for her products. However, I did notice in the latest newsletter that she had an offer to save money on the peppermint caps if I remember correctly. It gave an offer code to use when ordering to save money so now is the time to try!

--------------------
Microscopic Colitis, IBS-A, GERD, Hiatal Hernia