Benefiber Change

As of July 2006, Benefiber has announced that all of their products will no longer contain partially hydrolized guar gum. Benefiber in America will now be made from wheat dextrin. Benefiber in Canada may be made from inulin.

I do not know how wheat dextrin compares to guar gum as a soluble fiber supplement for Irritable Bowel Syndrome. I would not assume that the wheat dextrin in Benefiber is safe for people with wheat allergies or gluten intolerance disorders such as celiac unless Novartis provides that information. I would not use inulin at all for IBS, it is a FODMAP.

Please check here for comprehensive information about all soluble fiber supplements. BBB Business Review