All Boards >> IBS Recipes

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Recipes good for freezing?
      #220794 - 10/23/05 06:39 AM
mikeg

Reged: 10/23/05

Hey all,

I am new to the boards, this is my first post.

I suffer from IBS like all of you, but I also suffer from being a work-o-holic. This can be a very challenging (and unhealthy) combination. I was wondering if any of the busy people out there could help me find specific recipes within this site that they have found to be good for freezing. My plan is to cook about three different meals every Sunday, freeze them, and eat them throughout the week.

Any suggesitons would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!
Mike

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Recipes good for freezing? new
      #220799 - 10/23/05 07:29 AM
melitami

Reged: 02/23/04
Loc: Ewing, NJ, USA (IBS-D, Vegetarian)

Welcome, Mike! I'm a college student, so I suffer from about the same workoholic tendencies! There are lots of days I only eat breakfast at home!

Muffins and quick breads freeze well, and can be great sources of safe ways to get your fruits and veggies. I could live off of muffins some days, I swear! For "real" meals, I usually make an overly large amount of rice or pasta or something like that one night, and eat leftovers for the next several days. Hope that helps a little at least!

--------------------
Melissa
Friendship is thicker than blood. ~Rent

#220805 - 10/23/05 08:17 AM
Snorkie

Reged: 02/15/05
Loc: Northern Illinois, USA

I've had good luck freezing casseroles in general. Soups also freeze pretty well.

As for specific recipes, I posted a chimichanga recipe a couple of weeks ago that I've since found freezes well. It makes 8 chimis.

#220808 - 10/23/05 08:37 AM
Sand

Reged: 12/13/04
Loc: West Orange, NJ (IBS-D)

My spaghetti and chili recipes freeze beautifully, so I would think most other spaghetti and chili recipes would, too.