All Boards >> The Living Room

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)
I hate to come here to whine but...
      #203010 - 08/05/05 07:02 PM
Little Minnie

Reged: 04/16/04
Loc: Minnesota

my job has fallen out from under me really. I found out some weeks ago that ny boss lost his contract with the electric company for meter reading. He warned that if I could work for the new contractor (a bigger operation) they would pay way less. He was right. They strung us out waiting to hear if we were hired and what they offered for pay (made promises of telling us long ago and that took the time some would have used to look for other work!). Finally today I was called late and told what they will pay, it is about 1/3 less than I am making now! I can get by on that, not happily but without undue anxiety of bills. Frankly I have been making more for 4 years than I thought I ever would. I cannot really make any more elsewhere, but the job is so hard, dangerous and hard on my vehicle that I need the good pay for this job. I will be going from about $30 an hour to about $20 for the same work. Does anyone know anything about unemployment? I will look into it Monday AM but they won't let you look even on the website on nonbusiness hours. My friend who works with me quit and might take uneployment and go to school for something for 6 months. That is what she thinks anyway. I am still looking at my options but this is pretty upseting. I don't really like the work and some days it is brutal with dogs and the weather and all. To think of making so much less might make it impossible to do the job on a day to day basis. I know I will scowl and snap at customers. At least up until now on bad days I just thought 'well at least I am making over $30 an hour!' Any advice on jobs/unemployment would be helpful. I wouldn't mind getting some training in something that I could work at home. Despite my casual grammar here I am actually pretty school smart and can learn anythi