All Boards >> The Living Room

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Weird thing......job/career related
      #131919 - 12/20/04 02:53 PM
Sara-Sage

Reged: 02/04/04

I have posted before about how I dislike my job and am looking for a new one. Well I was checking out a local naturopath's website and noticed they are looking for help.

I am a graphic artist by trade but am only so-so and this field is SUPER competetive. This position is as an office assistant to this naturopath's office. I have A BIG interest in this type of medicine and am wondering, if they paid decently, if it would be a bad move to work there? Mind you, I have only applied and not had an interview. Gee, I think ahead, don't I?

I guess my question is, should I consider other fields if they pay well or is that going backwards?

Thanks.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Weird thing......job/career related new
      #131931 - 12/20/04 03:32 PM
cailin

Reged: 08/12/04
Loc: Dublin, Ireland

My philosophy on this one is that you will be happier for longer if you do a job you love rather than get paid a huge salary. If an opportunity comes up with a pay cut that means you could be doing something that you really enjoy doing and get paid for it I say take it!

I just need to figure out what job I would love and take it from there...

maybe I could be a travel writer.... *

--------------------
S.

#131933 - 12/20/04 03:35 PM
atomic rose

Reged: 06/01/04
Loc: Maine (IBS-A stable since July '05!)

I agree! Money isn't everything... and especially when you have a health condition that's aggravated by stress. You'll be happier in the long run doing something you love, rather than plugging along in a job that just pays the bills. Good luck!

#131934 - 12/20/04 03:37 PM
Sara-Sage

I agree. My favorite job was working for an entertainement newspaper even though it meant working 12 hours straight and until 2am!