Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Help!!! I'm a Newbie
      #75025 - 05/31/04 03:45 PM
rachelg

Reged: 05/31/04
Loc: Texas,USA

Hi,
I'm Rachel from Texas and I was just diagnosed with IBS May 26,04. I am sure that I have suffered from IBS for quite sometime-I am 50 years old. My significant other-(we will marry in Sept. of this year), is very supportative. We are just trying to "sort" things out.I would appreciate any help and advice. I am going back to my GP doctor this week to see what will be most helpful.I am slowly increasing my fiber intake and love peppermint tea. jack and I are going to enroll in Tai Chi classes this fall,for the exercise and stress mgmt. benefits. Would appreciate any help,advice,and encouragement. Thanks Rachel

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Help!!! I'm a Newbie new
      #75057 - 05/31/04 05:56 PM
LauraSue

Reged: 01/14/04
Loc: New York City

Welcome, Rachel! As you may have discovered we have quite a few Texans on the board so you'll be getting a big welcome from them. Your significant other sounds like a gem! Tai Chi sounds like a great idea, especially together.

I highly recommend Heather's books, although most of the most important info is on her website here. Her approach is basically:

1. Avoid the most common triggers (coffee, alcohol, red meat, fried foods) and start a food diary to figure out your own triggers.
2. Make soluble fiber foods the basis of every meal (breads, rice, pasta, potatoes, etc -- she has a list on one of her webpages).
3. Find a soluble fiber supplement that works for you and gradually increase the dosage until you're stable.

See, easy as 123!