All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Question about Mucus?
      #73540 - 05/26/04 08:32 AM
usafacock

Reged: 12/16/03

I've been battling whatever I have for about 4 years now. My symptoms have changed a little over the course of the years, but for the last year they have been pretty consistent. I typically wake up in the morning use the bathroom and then have to go about 2-3 more times before lunch. If I have mucus in the last stool my bowels will grumble for about an hour or two and then go away. I don't have watery stools, but I wouldn't call them totally formed. A lot of times I can see undigested food in my stool. Sorry for the graphics. I take a soluble fiber supplment 3 times a day before eating and have done so for the last 6 months. I also avoid most of the foods listed on this website. My bad days seem like they go for a week then I have a good week. The symptoms go from looser stools to harder stools and then back to looser stools. Can't figure out the trigger and why it seems cyclic. Mucus always seems to be present during the bad days. Any ideas? Anybody have any good results with molocure on any other product sold on the web? Thanks, for the help.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Question about Mucus? new
      #73625 - 05/26/04 12:18 PM
Vicam

Reged: 02/24/04
Loc: Ontario, Canada

Hello!

Have you been officially diagnosed with IBS? Have you had tests to rule out other problems (i.e. colonscopy, upper and lower GI)?

I know from experience that I too get a lot of mucus in my stool and that this is fairly common with IBS. Also, if you're IBS-A (alternating C and D) you may find that your symptoms are sorta cyclic. I know mine are, I'll have really bad D for a week or so and then all of sudden swing over to C. Lately, the D has been winning out over the C for the most part, but it definately usually goes in cycles.