All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Newly Diagnosed - Any Tips?
      #62009 - 04/16/04 04:40 PM
Andee

Reged: 04/16/04
Loc: Sacramento, CA

I have just been diagnosed with IBS. I am in my late twenties and am very afraid that I will have to deal with this for a life time. Does anyone know of any natural remedies that are very effective? My diet now is very bad, but I'm afraid to give up everything that I love. I plan to slowly change my diet until I find relief. Has anyone had any luck using yoga to relieve symptoms? What about tea? What seem to be your major triggers? Thank you for any advice you can give.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Newly Diagnosed - Any Tips? new
      #62012 - 04/16/04 04:51 PM
Megs

Reged: 04/03/04

Hi Andee,
I definitely know the feeling but there is absolute hope for all of us. I see it all over these boards people finding ways to deal. I am pretty new to this too and still trying to figure out how to deal with some symptoms and stabalize.

I think one of the main things is diet and for me it came down to how much was it worth to me to eat something but be in terrible pain and stuck in the bathroom forever. There are so many good foods out there that are totally safe and simple. I am a self professed "food sheltered" person meaning that things like tofu and rice milk scared me to death. You learn to like things you never thought of.

Heather's books are great! They are what I base my food on and were the first thing I found that made me think I could get through this. Fiber supplements are important. Yoga is great for pain for me. The tummy teas on here are great I just bought some. Also you should check out the hypno cds. I just started them this week and they are really relaxing. I know people on here that have been around longer than me probably have more ideas but those are some of the thing that I have found important and are natural.

-Megs