All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Pregnant with IBS
      #61176 - 04/14/04 02:37 PM
preggytummy

Reged: 04/14/04
Loc: Dallas, Texas

Hi. I'm new to the message boards. I am 24 weeks pregnant, due August 3. This is my first child. I actually haven't had too much of a problem with my IBS symptoms since I've been pregnant. However, I am now taking an antibiotic, Macrobid, for a UTI(I also have a bacterial infection separate from that and will have to take another antibiotic when I finish the macrobid.) Anyway, my concern is every time I have a BM now it's very dark, almost black. Is this normal with the Macrobid or could it be IBS? I'm also on a new prenatal vitamin with a stool softener, because I was experiencing some constipation. I'd appreciate any feedback you might have. Thanks!

~Jenny~

--------------------
~Jenny~

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Pregnant with IBS new
      #61179 - 04/14/04 02:49 PM
Brianne1

Hi. I can not help with your question but I have a few for you. How has your IBS been since you have been pregnant? Were you on any sort of medication for it? I was wondering the other day if I could even have kids and deal with IBS at the same time... A couple people tell me maybe having a baby might help, I don't see how since the medication I am on, you can not take while pregnant, my doc has me on Nulev and my psychiatrist has me on .25mg of Xanax (I have an anxiety problem) So I am just curious...

#61191 - 04/14/04 03:12 PM
Yoda (formerly Hans)

Reged: 01/22/03
Loc: Canada

WElcome to the boards! I've had 2 kids and am one of the resident "dear Abbys" of the pregnant world. Torbetta and Lana Marie are expecting now and are wonderful to talk to.