All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Miralax-oouuuuch!
      #57936 - 04/04/04 10:34 PM
fishnets

Reged: 10/09/03
Loc: MA

I have IBS-C, and my mixture of Colace and Magnesium pills just weren't cutting it anymore, so I got perscribed Miralax. Except since I started it my IBS is acting up big time!!! Pain, bloating and gas, uffff! Anyone else have this affect? Is this a side effect of the powder or is it my IBS reacting badly to it? If I go off of this, what are my other options as far as stool softeners? I hate never knowing how my stomach is going to react to things Also, when I bought it, they accidently sold me 2 bottles, so now I have one mostly full bottle and one unopened one...can I return them, or at least return the unopened one? It's just so annoying to have wasted my money(I'm a broke college student, and I keep spending money on IBS stuff!).

--------------------
IBS-C

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Miralax-oouuuuch! new
      #57945 - 04/05/04 02:33 AM
Lyndeigh

Reged: 02/07/04

Hi. I have Ibs-A, and my doc prescribed me Miralax too. When I first took it, I spent the whole entire day in the bathroom with D! So, I told my doc, and she told me to reduce my intake by half. So I took a half a cap full instead of a full cap full, and that seemed to help; however, im getting d more freq. now- so i think i;ll get off of it. Anyway, she told me that miralax pulls excess water into the bowel, which could probly explain the exptra bloat/gas/ect.

#58101 - 04/05/04 11:30 AM
michele

Reged: 06/02/03
Loc: southeastern michigan