All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Flax and Gluten
      #347620 - 06/28/09 10:33 AM
Grammy

Reged: 06/24/09
Loc: Massachusetts

Hi, newbie here....... does anyone here use finely ground flax seed instead of acacia for bowel motility issues? I have about a pound of organic flax seed in my freezer, finely ground it would make enough for me to continue taking for months, and I wonder whether I need to throw it out or can keep taking it. I usually mix it in with my oatmeal for breakfast, sprinkle it on my quinoa, or suspend it in a lot of water and drink it down. As for gluten, is Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free cereal O.K. to eat? (Brown rice, corn, buckwheat, and sorghum.) I have it with rice milk. And if it IS o.k. to eat, how do you know from reading the ingredients?????????????

--------------------
Grammy, 71 years of age, very active for someone with Fibromyalgia, IBS, and a scary medical history. Grateful to be alive!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Flax and Gluten new
      #347621 - 06/28/09 10:56 AM
Syl

Reged: 03/13/05
Loc: SK, CANADA

Ground flax should last to a year in the fridge or longer stored in the freezer.

Are you asking about Bob Red Mill GF Might Tasty Hot Cereal ? The first ingredient is whole grain brown rice which some IBSers cannot tolerate because of the IF. May I ask why you eat gluten free? Have you tested positive for celiac disease? If you did not test positive then gluten should be fine. A common food sensitivity for some IBSers is wheat which can cause gas & bloating in some individuals. This sensitivity is often confused with gluten sensitivity. Wheat sensitivity does not mean removal of wheat from the diet just moderating consumption of wheat. Can you eat regular oatmeal?

--------------------
STABLE: ♂, IBS-D 50+ years - Science of IBS

The FODMAP Approach to Managing IBS Symptoms
Evidence-based Dietary Management of Functional GI Symptoms: The FODMAP Approach