Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
IBS-D and Align Bifantis
      #337851 - 11/09/08 08:50 AM
ericai

Reged: 11/09/08
Loc: Nassau County, NY

Hi, I'm new to the board.
I've had IBS-A for 8 years but for the past two months it has changed to IBS-D. I'm really struggling with it since I'm a teacher and feel very trapped inside the classroom.
My Dr. just gave me Align to try and it has made my BMs significantly worse. Loose stools have turned to water.
Anyone else experience this also?
Looking forward to any replies Wish I'd found this site years ago!
Erica

--------------------
Erica
IBS-D

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: IBS-D and Align Bifantis new
      #337883 - 11/09/08 08:13 PM
Karen1415

Reged: 07/04/08

Hi There,

Align has an adjustment period as indicated in the package insert. Would you please post what your typical diet is so some here can make suggestions?

Thx Karen

#337895 - 11/10/08 08:27 AM
ericai

Thanks Karen,

I generally don't eat breakfast or lunch (sometimes snack on saltines).

I wake up bloated, gassy, several bouts of D and nausea on and off all day. I drink a lot of water during the day.

Snacks: dry oat bran cereals, rice chex, rice cakes, saltines (not fat free though...I'm going out to buy those now).

Dinner: pastas, rices, chicken, some frozen mixed veggies. I have not avoided red meats yet and I'm a cake and cookie kindof person. SO buy the time I get home I'm starving and have a hard time not eating sweets.

My eating habits haven't changed significantly from when I was just having loose BMs, except when I started Align 4 weeks ago. I didn't take any this weekend had no D, just 6 loose BMs this morning.

I just got Heather's books and am committed to changing my eating habits, so I went out and bought alot of soluble fiber foods to cook with. I also plan on avoiding her trigger list for now.