All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Can anyone help this mother of an 8-year-old with IBS?
      #335485 - 08/31/08 05:48 PM
TarasMom

Reged: 08/01/08
Loc: North Carolina

I'm a newbie with my 8-year-old daughter recently diagnosed with IBS. She struggled for over a year with symptoms before being diagnosed. Thanks to Heather's website, I have more information than anyone has given me in a year! But my question is simple, are there any other mothers out there that can give me tips for my daughter's diet? I know she's tired of eating the same thing for lunch at school every day, and her school doesn't allow use of the microwave. I'm also concerned about her nutrition. What supplements should she be taking and are safe for her age?
Thanks to anybody that can help!
Tara's Mom

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Can anyone help this mother of an 8-year-old with IBS? new
      #335622 - 09/04/08 06:06 AM
Barbara50

Reged: 09/26/07
Loc: Texas

Can't believe no one has responded to you. I don't have a small child with IBS but my heart goes out to you. I carry my lunch everday but I have a refrigerator and a microwave most of the time. However, when I don't I make tuna pasta and chicken pasta salads to try to even out the sandwiches which I don't like anyway. Another thing I make is chicken and turkey breast salad with chunks of leftover chicken or turkey breast, a very small amount of minced celery and minced onion along with a small amount of craisins. Stir a very small amount of low fat Hellmans into this and add a little pepper and salt and I think it is great with a slice or two of fresh french bread!! I also tolerate the low sodium V-8 juice well. Small individual containers of peaches and applesauce also work well.

--------------------
IBS-D, Gas & Bloating

Barbara50

Re: Can anyone help this mother of an 8-year-old with IBS & Atten:Hapamama new
      #335666 - 09/05/08 12:01 AM
GaGa

Reged: 01/12/08