Loc: US

Post deleted by allison-IBS-C

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: help for my daughter! new
      #326710 - 03/17/08 12:15 PM
amyleanne

Reged: 02/22/08
Loc: Canada

I'm sorry to hear that your daughter is having such a hard time. It sounds like what I was going through last month. I just started the EFI diet in February and I am already doing much better. I'm nowhere near stable but I have seen great improvements.
You should really have a look at the section of the site called Breaking the Cycle of IBS I did this and after a few days I felt much better. Then I started eating chicken breast and I was able to tolerate it quite well. Once her tummy calms down she will be able to eat a variety of good foods.
You may also want to check out what to eat when you can't eat anything
Like your daughter, I am also very new to the EFI diet but I am already starting to see results. It may seem hopeless now, but there is light at the end of the tunnel

--------------------
*Amy*

#326712 - 03/17/08 12:50 PM
Syl

Reged: 03/13/05
Loc: SK, CANADA

I have IBS and I am a fructose malabsorber and latose intolerant. And soy bothers me too - I cannot eat any soy products.

Fructose malaborption is known to produce depression in some individuals. Although IBS alone can cause enough misery to make one depressed It is possible that when you get her fructose problem under control that some of the depression may clear up. There are three research articles about fructose malabsorption given in this message. They are quite technical. In particular, the second article has a table in Figure 2 that gives a list of favourable and unfavourable foods. You will find that you will have to modify the EFI diet and recipes to reduce the fructose intake.

Some good sources of protein include oatmeal, fish, seafood and beans (if she can eat beans).

--------------------
STABLE: ♂, IBS-D 50+ years - Science of IBS

The FODMAP Approach to Managing IBS Symptoms