All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Re: For Steffie new
      #320726 - 12/14/07 11:52 PM
ms.mindful

Reged: 10/17/06

Hi Stefanie,

Before I fly I treat to eat the "safest" I can, however, there were times when my anxiety about "what if?" kicked in and even the safest meal didn't stand a chance. This was usually before I even entered the airplane. Sometimes I would take Immodium an hour before the flight to give me a boost of self-confidence AND I ALWAYS bring food on the plane that was "safe" for me instead of eating the airline food. Usually it was a plain turkey sandwich, not too exciting, but hey it's sustenance! Bananas worked well too.

As far as what you get so nervous about....only you know. For me it was all the "what if's?" that freaked me out and each "what if" would build on another and before I knew it I would spiral into high anxiety over. I have been a student of meditation for 5 years now and it helps a great deal, however, I wouldn't be normal if those "what if's" still didn't pop in my head. Perhaps a new perspective to try is to turnaround your what if's to be positive ones instead of negative.... such as.... What if I have a successful flight without anxiety? What if my stomach is feeling the best it ever has? What if I'm at total peace on this flight? What if I could fully accept my IBS and make peace with it?

Sometimes just turning around our perspectives can open up and free us from our suffering. Give it a try, it beats the alternative!

Have a lovely holiday in Arizona and know that I'm cheering you on from the sidelines!

Take good care,
Alicia

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: For Steffie ( Celiac Sprue disease?!) new
      #320748 - 12/15/07 08:32 AM
steffiejoy

Reged: 11/26/07
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio