All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Soy and Thyroid?
      #315387 - 09/21/07 07:13 AM
Gbridelady

Reged: 05/30/07
Loc: Indiana

Hi everyone! Since Oprah's big news about her thyroid problem she had said she took a month off and "relaxed, used soy products, took vitamins, and got well." I have hypothyroidism and take synthroid and use soy milk and other soy products in my diet and in my thyroid newsletter I got today the author who has had thyroid disease for a long time said soy shouldn't be used with thyroid disease, something about it breaking down and inhibiting isoflavones. Now I don't know if I have been pedalling backwards for the last 3 months since my IBS-C, lactose intolerant, gas, gas, gas diagnosis or not. I'm still taking Heather's Acacia, about 3/4 tsp. 3x daily but even that isn't working as well as it used to. I'm so sick of being sick with this IBS and not feeling up to par. Sorry for venting---but that newsletter really upset me!!

--------------------
Gloria
IBS-C, lactose intolerant

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Soy and Thyroid? new
      #315395 - 09/21/07 10:42 AM
Sand

Reged: 12/13/04
Loc: West Orange, NJ (IBS-D)

This is a point not everyone agrees on. Kandee - who used to post a lot on this Board and is a smart lady - avoids soy totally. I have an underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism) and am taking Synthroid daily. My endocrinologist's advice with regard to soy is not to avoid it but not to overdo it. I use rice milk but I do use soy ice cream (fairly often), soy cheese (no more than once a week), and soy sour cream (no more than once a week).

The simplest thing to do is to get your endo to check your TSH number. If the soy is making your thyroid even less active then your TSH number should be going up.