All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
IBS diet and healthy eating recommendations
      #315321 - 09/20/07 06:42 AM
pixiegoddess

Reged: 01/18/07

Hi all. I'm not sure if this is really something to be answered or not, and maybe even Heather may have to respond to this. I am a Dietetic Technician and have been having a hard time with the fact that much of what is recommended for a healthy diet is not allowed or recommended on the IBS diet. I was first diagnosed with IBS 30 years ago, and had major problems for about a year at that time. Then, my symptoms seemed to subside on their own. Of corse, at that time my GI doc told me that I just had to "change my attitude and things would get better". So I don't know how I really got better. Anyway, last year the IBS came back full force and although it is getting better it's still there. I am predominantly IBS-C and also have non-ulcer dyspepsia and hyperacidity (non-erosive reflux disease according to my current GI doc). But being in the business I have a hard time not practicing what I preach about whole grains, fresh fruits and veggies, etc. I used to eat those things until a year ago when things flared up again. How can I know that I am eating "healthy" when I can't tolerate many of these foods, at least not right now? I'm constantly reminded that I "should" be eating these things in literature and on TV and at work but just can't. I want to live a long, productive life but feel that I'm missing the boat by not being able to include some foods in my diet. It is very frustrating to me. Any words of advice or encouragement? Thanks for your help in advance!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: IBS diet and healthy eating recommendations new
      #315322 - 09/20/07 07:05 AM
abby6126

Reged: 04/09/07
Loc: Towson MD

Hi Pixie,