All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Graduate Student in need of Caffeine!
      #314285 - 08/30/07 10:18 AM
bdcanfield

Reged: 03/02/05
Loc: Carlisle, Pa USA

I was wondering if anyone has any ideas for a caffeine alternative. I am a first year grad student with a LOT of reading to do and when the professor tells you to consume caffeine to get through certain books... I know I am in trouble!! I have tried just eating sugar but that does not work.

--------------------
Smile and the world smiles back

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Graduate Student in need of Caffeine! new
      #314296 - 08/30/07 10:59 AM
IBSHell

Reged: 05/09/07
Loc: Connecticut

Even though I'm done with school, I can totally relate. I would find myself consuming more caffeine and getting sicker. I have totally given up caffeine, but I'm out of school now.

The best suggestion I have is to drink tons of water while studying. Staying hydrated makes you more alert and having to get up every 1/2 hr to pee will help too.

#314302 - 08/30/07 11:49 AM
Dizzy

Reged: 03/04/07
Loc: university place washington

Hi!
I just got out of school and got through it doing tea instead of coffee, peppermint, passion fruit, any really tangy strong tea kept me perky and alert, and yeah the bathroom breaks help, definitly don't do caffeine, it's not worth it, and you could miss classes, when your tummy says no to that really powerful trigger!

--------------------
ibc a but c predominent doing hypnotherapy and taking it one day at a time

#314305 - 08/30/07 11:58 AM
Sand

Reged: 12/13/04
Loc: West Orange, NJ (IBS-D)