All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
IBS, yeast and bread machines
      #299900 - 02/15/07 11:46 AM
Jeio

Reged: 09/28/06

I am not sure if this is the correct place to ask this question... please correct me if I am wrong (let me know if I should maybe ask on some other part of the board, or not ask altogether).

I bought a bread machine recently and I find the bread tastes very yeasty. Has anyone noticed this with bread machine bread? Is this bad for IBS? You can't smell the yeast if you make whole wheat bread, but when you make white bread it's terrible. And of course, I eat the white bread, while my husband enjoys the whole wheat...

So, anyone know if too much yeast is bad for IBS? What happens to the yeast when it's baked, does all of it die? Then where's the odor from?

Thanks... I am a terrible baker so any insights in this process will be appreciated.

--J, IBS-C

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: IBS, yeast and bread machines new
      #299921 - 02/15/07 03:23 PM
Syl

Reged: 03/13/05
Loc: SK, CANADA

I been making bread with a bread machine for about 10 years. I have not encountered the yeasty taste. However, I always use yeast designed specifically for bread machines.

Here is the recipe I use to make sourdough bread. I add 3 1/2 tsp of Fleschmann's dry bread machine yeast to 3 cups white bread flour, 1 cup sourdough starter, 1 cup water, 3 tsp salt and 1 tbsp light olive oil.

If you don't have sourdough starter increase the flour to 3.5 cups flour. You might have to adjust the water a bit.

Unfortunately I cannot eat whole grain bread so I cannot help you with problems associated with high IF flours.

Yeast is completelty by the baking process

--------------------
STABLE: ♂, IBS-D 50+ years - Science of IBS

The FODMAP Approach to Managing IBS Symptoms
Evidence-based Dietary Management of Functional GI Symptoms: The FODMAP Approach
FODMAP Chart & Cheatsheet