All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | (show all)
opinions about fiber supplements
      #287731 - 10/24/06 01:24 PM
Taryn Jodi

Reged: 10/24/06

Hi everyone, I am brand new to these message boards, but not new to IBS. I'm 25 and have been struggling with IBS for as long as I can remember, only it has gotten much worse in the last year. I am taking metamucil and I am curious about other supplements. I read the information about supplements on the webpage, but I wanted to get some opinions. Does anyone here take Fibercon? How has it worked for you? Since I struggle with gas and bloating I am thinking about switching to something else, but wanted to get some feedback first.

Thanks
TJ

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: opinions about fiber supplements new
      #287739 - 10/24/06 02:32 PM
Sand

Reged: 12/13/04
Loc: West Orange, NJ (IBS-D)

If you're IBS-D, Metamucil is a bad idea because it contains both Soluble Fiber and Insoluble Fiber - IBS-Ds should really be taking an SFS with just Soluble Fiber.

I'm IBS-D and I take Acacia. You don't say whether you're on Heather's EFI Diet, but I found that was crucial to my getting stable.

HTH. Welcome to the Boards.

--------------------
[Research tells us fourteen out of any ten individuals likes chocolate. - Sandra Boynton]

#287749 - 10/24/06 03:23 PM
Hypnogal

Reged: 03/17/03

Acacia all the way. I take a rounded teaspoon with every meal! I used to be IBS-D...then went to C, now I'm okay! Really, no bloating, gas or pain. Work up slowly...then use as needed. Remember to dissolve it completely (or almost) and drink water throughout the day...there IS nothing at your drugstore that is like Acacia.

#287767 - 10/24/06 05:44 PM
line415

Reged: 09/09/06
Loc: New Jersey