All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Perfectionist
      #2654 - 03/13/03 03:18 AM
tlc

Reged: 03/06/03
Loc: Australia

REading through the posts, I"m wondering if I"m interpreting a few things here. It seems a few ibs-ers consider themselves perfectionists. I was told by my doc that I suffered an anxiety disorder due to being an overachiever in highschool. Now, 10 years on, though I don't think I"m anxious, people still say I"m a perfectionist or overachiever.

ANyone else the same?

Oh - another thing - seems like a lot of people on the board are teachers. Me too! What a coincidence!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Perfectionist new
      #2667 - 03/13/03 05:38 AM
Yoda (formerly Hans)

Reged: 01/22/03
Loc: Canada

You sound just like me! I'm a teacher, was an overachiever (brutal perfectionist while in school) and have an anxiety disorder (OCD) which I just had diagnosed this fall, but have had all my life. I hated being a perfectionist - but I just had to exhaust myself to every small detail. I'm not quite as bad anymore, but the OCD has taken a turn for the worse, and although I'm less stressed than when I was teaching (I'm stying home to raise my son), my anxiety was still out of control. I'd love to get to know you better - maybe we can help each other out. Take care.

--------------------
Formerly HanSolo. IBS, OCD, Bipolar, PTSD times 3.

#2706 - 03/13/03 10:21 AM
ecmmbm

Reged: 02/23/03
Loc: North Carolina