All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
IBS-C newbie needs support!
      #261643 - 05/04/06 04:35 PM
jewels

Reged: 05/03/06
Loc: southern California

hey - I'm a newbie and a little lost on these boards!!!...will a few of you help me out? I'm IBS-C and really tired of it . I've begun using the acacia powder and increased soluble fibers, more water etc. How long do I have to wait for relief?! Can I continue with some senna laxatives? Also, what is the correct amount of soluble and insoluble fibers I ought to be having in my daily diet? Thanks so much for advice and support!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: IBS-C newbie needs support! new
      #261718 - 05/05/06 05:18 AM
Memmles

Reged: 04/07/06
Loc: Silicon Valley, CA, USA

Hey Jewels,

I just posted a message yesterday morning titled "It's official! I'm an IBSer!" - 'cause I'm in the same boat as you.

I just went through ALL of the myriads of tests (and geez, some of them aren't pleasant)...all tests were normal. Thus, we're at the IBS-C diagnosis now. In fact, I have my followup appt. with my GI doc today. **NOTE: One thing I've had hammered into me is the importance of going through ALL of those tests- even the nasty ones that include collecting your poop (!!), drinking barium and/or other contrast agents. Truly - it can be unpleasant, but then at least you know there's no other disease lurking in you that you DON'T want to miss.

I've been "lurking" on this site & the boards, posting occasionally, over the last few months. This site has helped TREMENDOUSLY. I can totally understand why you'd feel lost on the boards though.