All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
IBS-?
      #249912 - 03/03/06 07:38 PM
scarrlet86

Reged: 02/21/06
Loc: California

I've been noticing that people on this forum identify themselves as IBS-D or IBS-C. Well, I'm confused, because I have neither. I don't have D unless I'm actually sick with something, and I've never ever suffered from C. Those just aren't symptoms I get from my IBS. My biggest symptom is gas, closely followed by (sometimes extreme) pain, and frequent nausea. I just constantly feel sick, so sick that I've missed a ton of class (I'm a college student) and it's affecting my grades. I'm either in such extreme pain that all I can do is lie in bed with a heating pad and cry, or so nauseous that I truly don't know if I'm going to throw up (I never do, but there's a first time for everything). And to make it worse, I'm phobic of throwing up. It's just about the worst phobia a person can have, especially with GI problems. Anyways, I'm just wondering if anyone else out there has symptoms like me.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: IBS-? new
      #249915 - 03/03/06 07:55 PM
K2

Reged: 01/29/06
Loc: Canada

One great thing to try for nausea is Gravol. It's marketed for motion sickness but in general helps alleviate nausea. Make sure you get the non-drowsy kind.
I know someone who seems to have the same symptoms, and she finds that it helps.

As for the pain, peppermint capsules and tea help a lot.
Good luck!
Kat

--------------------
Kat

#249927 - 03/03/06 09:03 PM
hohoyumyum

Reged: 05/28/03
Loc: SacTown, CA

Some people have D, some have C, some have both and some have neither. It is unique from person to person. Beano works very well for me for gasand so does soaking in a hot bath when I can. It relaxes my body and allows gas to be released. It doesn't stop the gas though like Beano does.

--------------------
If you're not dead, you've still got time.

#249933 - 03/03/06 09:24 PM
Gracie