All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
has anyone been able to stop taking their prescriptions with diet change?
      #248826 - 02/26/06 08:13 PM
sarah2230

Reged: 02/07/06
Loc: NJ

I am really curious if anyone has found that with a diet and lifestyle change that they no longer need to rely on prescriptions to manage their ibs symtoms. I have been eating the IBS diet for a few months and have felt incredibly better...I am hoping that one day I will not have to take my prescription anymore. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: has anyone been able to stop taking their prescriptions with diet change? new
      #248829 - 02/26/06 08:26 PM
hohoyumyum

Reged: 05/28/03
Loc: SacTown, CA

The only thing I take anymore is Immodium as needed and I feel quite stable. I never found a prescription that worked for me.

--------------------
If you're not dead, you've still got time.

Re: has anyone been able to stop taking their prescriptions with diet change? new
      #248833 - 02/26/06 09:12 PM
EvilCats

Reged: 02/24/05

A few years back I used to try to take Immodium, fibre supplements and a few other over-the-counter things which I thought would help me but they never did.

To be honest, I haven't followed the IBS diet as well as I could've. I eat a lot of red meat and bacon. Occasionally I will eat junk food that does not agree with me, but usually leave it to a Friday night just in case.

Two years ago, my stomach was constantly bothering me and hardly a moment went by where I wasn't reminded that I had IBS. I would probably have one "good" day per week back then.

Now I will usually only have a really crappy day (pardon the pun!) once or twice a month. I also exercise regularly, so my appetite and overall diet has improved - perhaps this is why my stomach is better?