All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
New member with IBS
      #211106 - 09/05/05 05:08 PM
emily_m

Reged: 09/05/05

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this message board but have visited this website several times over the last few years. I was diagnosed with IBS-D a few years ago due to high stress in my life. Looking back, I've had IBS for 17 years if not longer. I've always had abdominal/intestinal issues when under stress. I also have acid reflux and a hiatal hernia.

I borrowed the IBS Diet book from the library once before and am considering buying it. I just don't know if I can give up some of the food choices (dairy and some fats).

I want to lose weight but have trouble with most diets because they make me very C or crampy. Most of it was probably due to high intake of insoluble fibers and a drastic reduction of solubles (ie wheat pasta that had me doubled over on the floor). I don't eat several of the trigger foods at this point.

I'm trying to reduce my stress, but that isn't always easy. I think that my diet should be a main focus now.

I want to lose weight and feel healthy for once. What are the hardest parts about following this diet? How hard is it to maintain?

I'm hopeful and ready to start feeling better.
Emily

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: New member with IBS new
      #211182 - 09/05/05 10:25 PM
Lyndsey

Reged: 02/16/05
Loc: Bay Area, CA

well i maintain becuse i'm ibs-d mostly...i'll tell you when i first started the diet it didn't help me right away. i stopped seeming to have as many attacks, but i still had them. I know that certin foods will bother me, so i just don't eat it, because it's not worth it to me to be in the pain, then get cramps and gas....becuse once it starts it'll take a day or two to calm back down.....