All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Chips and snack food
      #18922 - 08/28/03 06:27 PM
rosiechica

Reged: 08/22/03
Loc: Wisconsin

Can anyone give me advice on what chips are out there that are safe to eat? I'm in college and crave junk food, I haven't had to many problems with Sun Chips, but was wondering what other snack foods would be alright.
I'm newly diagnosed IBS-D and am having a hard time figuring out what I can and can't eat!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Chips and snack food new
      #18923 - 08/28/03 06:30 PM
BL

Reged: 06/01/03

Baked Ruffles are good. Not the WOW chips, they have an ingredient in them that can cause diarrhea. Just the baked ones. I like to dip them in hummus or salsa. I've tried the Cheddar flavor, but prefer the plain ones because that's better for dipping!

#18924 - 08/28/03 06:32 PM
rosiechica

Reged: 08/22/03
Loc: Wisconsin

I'm also new to all this health food stuff, what exactly is hummus?

#18925 - 08/28/03 06:38 PM
BL

Reged: 06/01/03

It's a dip, Mediterrean I think, made from, don't gross out, mashed chick peas (also known as garbanzo beans) and other things such as garlic, lemon juice, spices, and an ingredient called tahini that tastes a little like peanut butter. It's good. I buy it in the grocery store in the section where they have the gourmet cheeses and spreads. If you have a Greek restaurant near you, they will usually have it. Just make sure to ask that the oil be left off, because they normally serve it in a bowl topped with olive oil. It's usually comes with warm pita bread for dipping. But sometimes, if I'm in a hurry, I just use the Baked Ruffles. I could eat the whole container for lunch! It's low-fat and good for you.

#18936 - 08/28/03 07:08 PM
*Melissa*

Reged: 02/22/03
Loc: ;