All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Newbie Here
      #126381 - 11/30/04 12:21 PM
Leah131

Reged: 11/30/04

Hello all:
Everytime I eat I get a wricked stomache. Sometimes I get gas. When I go to the bathroom my pains are gone. I have tired everything nothing works for me. I also get that spastic colon. I had colonoscopy, endoscopy. What can I do so I can feel better again? Write Back Soon,
Leah

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Hi Leah! new
      #126401 - 11/30/04 02:25 PM
atomic rose

Reged: 06/01/04
Loc: Maine (IBS-A stable since July '05!)

Welcome to the boards!

I don't know if you've read this information yet, but there's plenty on the website here that should help you. We've all had success with the diet guidelines set up by Heather in her book, Eating for IBS. You can find LOTS of information about starting here. The idea behind the diet is that you center all your food choices around soluble fiber foods, which regulate your digestion system and "spastic" colon naturally.

You might also find supplements - such as peppermint (a fantastic anti-spasmodic!), probiotics, and soluble fiber supplements - to be a great help with managing your symptoms. You can find information on those starting here.

Finally, we're always around to answer specific questions that may come up as you read through all that, so ask away!

That should give you a starting point to feeling better... welcome again!

Re: Newbie Here new
      #126404 - 11/30/04 02:31 PM
Nelly

Reged: 08/06/04
Loc: Within stray mortar fire of DC

Just wanted to say Hi and Welcome!

My stomach hurts when I eat too... It's no fun is it?? Do some foods hurt more than others? I find if I stick to rice, french bread, chicken breast and pasta, my stomach doesn't hurt as much.