All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
newbie here/gastric bypass
      #114003 - 10/19/04 07:54 AM
BJake66

Reged: 10/17/04
Loc: PA

goodmorning - My name is Lisa. I have two little girls - ages 7 & 5..married 9 years. We live in CT, soon to be transferring to Georgia. Hoping to settle in Coral Springs Florida when hubby retires from the Navy. I am so thankful that I have found this awesome site..ordered all the books, teas etc. Can't wait till it arrives. I guess I have always been constipated/sometimes diahrea..didn't really bother me till I had the violent spams/back spasms this July. I had every test known to man..finally just being diagnosed with IBS. I just read a post yesterday by someone who had gastric bypass as I had..I had mine 2.5 years ago - 110 pounds. Like the other poster said the IBS diet goes against what the gastric bypass "diet" suggest. I haven't received my literature yet so forgive my ignorance:-)...I really need protein first..but with IBS I need soluable fiber first (starch). Our protein drinks have whey..seems to be bothering my stomach (gas and slight back pain). So I asked someone does protein drinks come in soy? waiting on that answer.

My real question (among the many) is: I have been having a bowel movement almost after I eat. Maybe two or three a day now. Is it cause I started taking Zelnorm or is it that I am not used to eating soluable fiber? or am I eating to much soluable fiber with each meal. I do know that I haven't been in pain for two days now - thank G-d.

Thank -you all if you have been able to read this far, and, I look forward to getting to know alot of you and learning from you.

Lisa Jacob
BJake66@aol.com

--------------------
Lisa

IBS-C, pain predominant

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: newbie here/gastric bypass new
      #114050 - 10/19/04 10:29 AM
Linz

Reged: 09/01/03
Loc: England

Welcome!