All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
breakfast, anyone?
      #113071 - 10/14/04 05:11 PM
LeeW

Reged: 10/14/04
Loc: Lancaster Co., Pa.

I have never done this before- bear with me... I have finally gotten a two month flare up under control (IBS-C)... I am still a little afraid to eat, and breakfast has been the hardest. I used to eat cereal, but am prepared to give that up forever! Any suggestions, other than bagels?

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: breakfast, anyone? new
      #113088 - 10/14/04 06:20 PM
Nelly

Reged: 08/06/04
Loc: Within stray mortar fire of DC

Welcome, LeeW!! Glad to have you here! I'm not big on breakfast (I get morning attacks) How about some toasted french bread w/soy butter, and a cup of chamomille tea with sugar? That's all I've got. I'm sure other people will have great ideas!!

~nelly~

#113092 - 10/14/04 06:56 PM
atomic rose

Reged: 06/01/04
Loc: Maine (IBS-A stable since July '05!)

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. There's lots of things that are safe! For starters, the good news is that you can still have cereal. I don't know what kind you used to eat, but safe cereals such as Honeycomb and Rice Chex are great with vanilla soy or rice milk.

Hot cereals are good too. Some of us like oatmeal; I prefer cream of wheat. Cream of rice is very safe. Another tasty hot "cereal" option is to take leftover cooked rice and reheat it with some soy/rice milk and whatever sweetener and spices you'd like... a dash of vanilla and a sprinkle of cinnamon is heavenly.

English muffins are a good alternative to bagels. Just be sure to read the ingredients; a lot of them do contain dairy, but I find that store-brand ones do not.

Pancakes are also an option. Do a search on the recipe board for safe recipes, and skip the butter for serving! I posted a recipe for Orange Juice Pancakes a couple months ago; I've found them to be very safe and very tasty.