All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Long-Term Effects of Fiber Supplements new
      #53878 - 03/24/04 12:44 PM
Ana Maria

Reged: 03/24/04

Hi Everyone,
I am new to the Message Boards and to the world of the IBS diet. I happened on Heather's web site, got the book and Acacia Tummy Fiber and now I'm on the road to better health! I am wondering though (and I tried to do a search on the baords but couldn't find anything on this topic..?) if (1) would starting this diet with the use of a fiber supplement mean that I would have to take a fiber supplement forever?, if so, (2) are there any side-effects of taking a fiber supplement forever?, i.e., is it not possible to control IBS through diet alone?

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

All benefits, no risks!
      #53883 - 03/24/04 12:51 PM
HeatherAdministrator

Reged: 12/09/02
Loc: Seattle, WA

Hi - you may find that you can control IBS just through your diet and without a soluble fiber supplement. Some people can do this all of the time, some folks add in a supplement just when they're touchy, and some people really need the supplement on a daily basis to stay stable. You'll find your own preference here.

The good news is that there is zero downside to taking a soluble fiber supplement every day, both for IBS and for overall health. It's one of the best things there is to help stabilize your digestion, and since fiber is just a natural plant food it's something you're meant to be eating anyway. You can't get "addicted" to it, there are no risks or side effects from it, it's not a drug, there are no long-term problems, etc. If anything, it's not a bad idea for everyone, whether they have IBS or not, to take extra fiber every day. It helps stabilize blood sugar levels, lowers heart disease risks, lower colon cancer rates, and is just an all-around good thing for you.