All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
return of symptoms after probiotic switch (I'm an A)
      #209705 - 08/30/05 07:42 AM
meep

Reged: 06/06/05
Loc: Texas

I had been doing really well for about 2 months. Then I ran out of the probiotic that I had gotten from a kinesiologist and got one from the health food store. My naturopath suggested it, since I didn't want to go back to the kinesiologist to get the other probiotic. Her office is closed by the time I get off work. I like the new probiotic because I only take it once a day, but my D has returned since I switched. I don't know if it is because of the probiotic switch or just the stress of returning to work after a relaxing summer break. I'm a teacher. ;o) Has anyone else had problems with a probiotic switch before or is it just stress....or maybe it's both....lolol.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

I would bet on the stress... new
      #209716 - 08/30/05 08:01 AM
Cyndy

Reged: 03/05/05

...and the change in schedule. I always have more symptoms during the work week when things are not as calm and relaxed as the weekends.

Part of it could also be psychological dependency on the probiotic. Which probiotic did you switch to? If I recognize it, I may be able to help you with the ingredients to see if contains something that may contribute to the D. Is it dairy free?

I would think it would be pretty good if your naturopath suggested it. IMHO, the kinesiologist may be making money off of the supplement he sells. I once went to a chiropractor for my GI problems and they gave me names of a few supplements to take, but I could only buy them from her. I just don't trust that....when the person referring the product has a vested interest.

Re: I would bet on the stress... new
      #209724 - 08/30/05 08:12 AM
meep

Reged: 06/06/05
Loc: Texas