Help For Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) - Education, Support, & Self Help for Irritable Bowel Syndrome   
Heather & Company for IBS, LLC My Account
Shop for Irritable Bowel SyndromeIrritable Bowel Syndrome Discussion & Message BoardsIrritable Bowel Syndrome News & ReviewsStore Finder

HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99% of hacker crime.
Items in Cart:
QTY
Subtotal
0
0
Help for Irritable Bowel Syndrome Home
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Diet & Recipes
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Books
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Supplements
Yoga for Irritable Bowel Syndrome
Hypnosis for Irritable Bowel Syndrome
Tummy Teas for Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Product Reviews for

First Year IBS ~
5 Key Treatments
For All Symptoms
  (50 reviews)
First Year IBS ~<br>5 Key Treatments<br><em>For All Symptoms</em> $15.29

(15% off $17.99 list price)

See Product Details

55555 Product4716 Sheila from Trout Lake, WA
Purchased on 9/6/2014
Reviewed on 9/28/2014
So helpful to have guidelines.
I was having stabbing pains in my left side, with abdominal cramping throughout, losing weight, and feeling awful. I purchased the 2 books and the fennel tea and Acacia Senegal tummy fiber. I have been using the above items and following the IBS diet. What a relief. It is so nice to have help, and feel so much better. Thank you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4711 Deanna from Morgan Hill, CA
Purchased on 9/4/2014
Reviewed on 9/25/2014
Comprehensive, easy to read help with most IBS questions.
Lots of great, well thought out pages, of get your life back information, for treating IBS symptoms everyday.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4679 Sandi from La Mesa, CA
Purchased on 8/23/2014
Reviewed on 9/14/2014
These books are very helpful. Nice to have on hand so you can keep referring to them
Speed of Delivery

55555 Product4592 Luann from Negaunee, MI
Purchased on 7/9/2014
Reviewed on 8/4/2014
This book is full of helpful information.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4578 Risa from pensacola, FL
Purchased on 7/8/2014
Reviewed on 7/29/2014
excellent book
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4523 Marilyn from Manassas, VA
Purchased on 6/19/2014
Reviewed on 7/10/2014
I am still reading it, and re-reading it... great book!!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4183 Jan from Boise, ID
Purchased on 2/11/2014
Reviewed on 3/4/2014
I bought this book for my nephew
I had no idea he has been suffering for years. This book will change his life
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4127 Maureen from cutchogue, NY
Purchased on 1/25/2014
Reviewed on 2/15/2014
Book is full of info . I keep it handy when I am on doubt.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4031 Nancy from Modesto, CA
Purchased on 12/17/2013
Reviewed on 1/7/2014
A Great Help!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product3960 Marie from Riverside, RI
Purchased on 11/19/2013
Reviewed on 12/14/2013
glanced through a few pages and liked what I saw.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3933 Diane from Williamstown, OH
Purchased on 11/9/2013
Reviewed on 12/4/2013
This is the only thing that I have found that helps with my IBS. Looking forward to trying the Hypnosis CD's.
I can't understand why the doctors haven't figured this out yet.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3909 Alvetta from Raleigh, NC
Purchased on 11/3/2013
Reviewed on 11/25/2013
This book has been great . It helped me understand my condition and what I could do to help myself.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3689 Bertina from Custer, SD
Purchased on 8/30/2013
Reviewed on 9/20/2013
very informative book
This book has been a God send for me. I no longer stand at my cupboards wondering what I'm going to be able to eat. Thank you so much for bringing joy back to mealtime!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3537 Mary from Mechanicsville, VA
Purchased on 7/22/2013
Reviewed on 8/12/2013
First Year IBS--clear, comprhensive, consicse
I have had IBS for two years and this is the most helpful information I have had. the information and the dietary information really works and the peppermint tea is amazing. I have felt more normal in the last few weeks than I have for the last two years. Thank you so much.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3468 Alberta from Swanton, VT
Purchased on 7/4/2013
Reviewed on 7/25/2013
have had this problem for 3 yrs or longer
My problem has been getting worse the last 3 yrs.I thought I was lactose and tests said no.So I went back to the drs with a list of things that I couldn't eat or drink and this time they seem to take me more seriously. I have 2 of your books and I stopped all the things you listed and I still have a bad day once a week,but I try and stick to my diet and family have been really good about my diet. i just received your peppermint tea,which came this morning and I was having a bad morning and I drink some tea and eat rice and felt better and I take your pepperment capsules every morning.Your books has been a great(I have two) help and the recipes are good. I am glad there is someone out there that understands IBS. Somedays I am afraid to leave the house,but with this diet,my doctor said it was a healthy one and that I would live forever,ha!ha! So thank you again
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3450 Youlia from Grmbling, LA
Purchased on 7/1/2013
Reviewed on 7/22/2013
I'm using tummy , teas and reading both books , the first year ibs the best help I have received so far
Need help with once the attack is on. I am ibs-c I need to better understand how to increase my fiber . Having trouble with low blood sugar . I lose my taste for food. Nothing taste good. Is this normal for ibs c people?
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3445 Suzi from Yakima, WA
Purchased on 6/28/2013
Reviewed on 7/19/2013
excellent book thank you
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product3364 Veona from youngstown, FL
Purchased on 6/5/2013
Reviewed on 6/26/2013
i find the diet hard to follow. i worry about getting enough protein.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Veona - I'm so sorry to hear this. It should very easy to get enough protein and still eat safely for IBS.

You have many different options: skinless white meat chicken or turkey breasts; any kind of seafood at all; egg whites or Egg Beaters; veggie substitutes for meats like veggie hot dogs or Garden Burgers; well cooked and chopped/pureed beans or lentils (add slowly and gradually to your diet); any kind of soy product; finely ground nuts added to a soluble fiber foundation.

If you need recipes ideas for how to incorporate these foods, or any more help at all, please just let us know.

Best,
Heather

4444 Product3326 Susan from Florence, AZ
Purchased on 5/24/2013
Reviewed on 6/14/2013
What?
I received the book within a good length of time. Have just started reading it, so can't comment as to the content, but I think it will be good.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3312 Kollene from Hubbard, IA
Purchased on 5/14/2013
Reviewed on 6/11/2013
I was surprised and very pleased to get the product I ordered so quickly. I learned a lot from this book. Heather confirmed what I have learned the hard way over most of my adult life. The information about the soluble and insoluble fiber is priceless. Th
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3236 Katherine from South Boston, VA
Purchased on 4/15/2013
Reviewed on 5/15/2013
Great resource!
Help for IBS has given me my life back. I no longer have to take Imodium just so I can leave the house. With the aid of your fiber, diet changes, and the info found in the books, etc., I have gone from 3 or 4 bad episodes a week (lasting hours) to only one or two a month. Thanks for your wonderul products and information.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3015 Shannon from Grunthal, MB
Purchased on 2/9/2013
Reviewed on 3/23/2013
Extremely helpful, informative and full of hope!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2996 Kathy from Potterville, MI
Purchased on 2/22/2013
Reviewed on 3/15/2013
The books have been a great help for learning to live with this difficult problem.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product2966 Donna from Madison, GA
Purchased on 2/12/2013
Reviewed on 3/8/2013
This book was very helpful in dealing with my IBS.
Unfortunately, I wasn't able to prepare some of the items as my husband is a type 2 diabetic. I can't handle any artifical sweeteners. I try to follow the guides in the book. Thank-you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Donna - thank you very much for your feedback! You are right, you do not want to use any artificial sweeteners with IBS, just plain old sugar, honey, stevia, or maple syrup. And those can be difficult for your diabetic husband, so you do have some conflicts, but this is still workable.

There is a diet FAQ here about combining IBS and diabetic diet concerns http://www.helpforibs.com/diet/faq.asp#diabetes

Hope this helps,

Heather

4444 Product2948 Margaret from Spokane, WA
Purchased on 2/9/2013
Reviewed on 3/3/2013
I haven't had time to give to the IBS book. Upon a quick look it appears to be worth while, and I will get to it soon.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2931 Devan from Portland, OR
Purchased on 2/5/2013
Reviewed on 2/26/2013
Great Book, I recommended this to ANY one with IBS or tummy problems
Speed of Delivery

55555 Product2754 Ann from Henrico, VA
Purchased on 1/2/2013
Reviewed on 1/24/2013
My Bible
I started using "The First Year IBS" in November. It has been my "bible" ever since. I am now using the hypnosis Program 100 and am in my 22nd day. It is starting to work for me. Thanks, Heather, for being there for me and thousands of others.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2456 Melinda from Lakeport, CA
Purchased on 10/21/2012
Reviewed on 11/11/2012
Thank you.
The information in your book and the products I purchased have changed my life. Talking to my doctors was like blowing in the wind. No answers. No real help.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2444 Frances from Berlin, MD
Purchased on 10/16/2012
Reviewed on 11/7/2012
Loved you book
This is my second bout with IBS my gastrointerologist was of little help as to diet. I started following the directions in your book ans gradually began to feel much better. Thanks
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2279 Sue from The Villages, FL
Purchased on 9/3/2012
Reviewed on 9/24/2012
At last information....drs. just don't know
Speed of Delivery

55555 Product2019 Kay from Kittredge, CO
Purchased on 7/19/2012
Reviewed on 8/9/2012
I'm now back in control of my life. Thank you so nuch.
Doctors told not to follow " some neurotic diet" as it would make no differience. Thanks to Heather's book, I now know how to stay well. I am sendinding a copy to my gastroenterologist. I hope he will read and learn.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1803 Judith from Nova, OH
Purchased on 6/15/2012
Reviewed on 7/6/2012
GREAT book!
I was diagnosed with IBS almost 30 yrs. ago, although I KNOW I suffered with it most of my life. Wish I'd had a book like this back then --- certainly would have saved me from a lot of needless misery.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1657 Barbara-ann from BOLTON LANDING, NY
Purchased on 5/15/2012
Reviewed on 6/6/2012
most helpful when going to my Dr.'s
I referred my GP to your web site since he really did not appear to have a grasp for IBS. His nurse also wanted it because her husband suffers from similar symptoms. Trying to follow diet recommendations and having limited success. We are re-testing for some of the conditions you listed in book to make certain I do not have. Celiac-negative, re-colonscopy not able to schedule til August. I am encouraged and discouraged accepting that if I truly have IBS, which I beleive I have suffered from for over 30 years, it is just getting worse and worse and this will be my life. Thanks though for information.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1606 Erika from Herreid, SD
Purchased on 5/8/2012
Reviewed on 5/30/2012
So far so good
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1323 Linda from Bradenton, FL
Purchased on 3/15/2012
Reviewed on 4/5/2012
great
Your book helped me learn to for awhile eat only soluble foods. At the end of this month I will introduce one insoluble food every 4 days. The ones I can tolerate I will eat. The ones I can't tolerate I will elimate. I am hoping my food sensativties will be gone. I had constipation for at least 56 years. With you Tummy Fiber I am glad to share with you that I am not going at least once every day & sometimes twice a day. Thank you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1299 Nancy from East Stroudsburg, PA
Purchased on 3/12/2012
Reviewed on 4/3/2012
informative
I needed a "plan of action" and understanding of what was happening to me--thank you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1175 Roberta from Carmichael, CA
Purchased on 2/23/2012
Reviewed on 3/15/2012
I bought this for my roommate.
My roommate is the one with IBS. I've been trying to get her stable for some time. the information is very helpful and seems to be helping...with her cooperation.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product712 Darsi from Prior Lake, MN
Purchased on 11/15/2011
Reviewed on 1/9/2012
This book is wonderful and life changing.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product670 Wayne from West River, MD
Purchased on 12/9/2011
Reviewed on 1/4/2012
Full of great Info. Very educatonal.
Not working for me at the moment.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product493 Susan from Santa Ros, CA
Purchased on 11/20/2011
Reviewed on 12/11/2011
diet info not that accurate
I think I'd just shoot myself and get it over with if I really had to the unhealthy diet suggested in the book. I know I wouldn't feel good with white rice and white bread as the main part of my meals. Thank goodness my diet doesn't have to be that drastic.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Susan - Please don't feel this way - the IBS diet is not actually drastic at all, especially once you get yourself a bit stable. It's a very healthy, plant-based high soluble fiber diet that is meant to carefully incorporate as much insoluble fiber as you can tolerate. While white rice and white breads (or pasta, barley, quinoa, cornmeal, root veggies, etc.) are the safe soluble fiber foundations, you use them to keep your gut stable while you carefully add insoluble fiber foods (fruits and veggies, some whole grains, nuts, etc.) You can also have seafood, skinless white meat poultry, egg whites, and more.

The First Year IBS book has a concise dietary chapter and a small menu section, but Eating for IBS is the book that takes the IBS diet and shows how wide-ranging and delicious IBS recipes can be. It's really not difficult to cook around the IBS diet triggers and avoid them completely, and still have healthy and appealing meals and snacks. That point was actually the driving force behind Eating for IBS in the first place. I was determined to be able to eat safely and keep my IBS under control, while still being able to cook and eat fantastic foods, from all-American to ethnic options to great desserts. No one should ever feel deprived or unhealthy with an IBS diet - there are too many tips and tricks and substitutions to let you have great food that will still keep your gut calm.

Please let me know if you have any questions at all about this. I actually just put up IBS cooking show videos on YouTube that might help - there are recipes for lemon herb fish with rice, garden veggie nachos, blueberry pecan French toast, and more.

Best,
Heather

55555 Product445 Vickie from Weatherford, TX
Purchased on 11/12/2011
Reviewed on 12/3/2011
Very good information. It's hard to find any information on IBS and this book was very helpful.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product364 Penny from Ronda, NC
Purchased on 10/18/2011
Reviewed on 11/22/2011
Excellent Information
IBS is so frustrating because the medical community seems clueless as to how to help patients. I actually gave my Gastro Dr the website information so they can pass it along to other patients. This book is full of usefull information on how to get your life back.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product298 Marilyn from Akron, OH
Purchased on 10/24/2011
Reviewed on 11/17/2011
Definately helped me!
Thanks Heather & Co. I have noticed a big difference using the Acacia fiber and Fennel tea. Learning about soluable fiber in my diet has been very beneficial. Thanks Heather & Co.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product152 Amanda
Reviewed on 10/24/2011
Thank You
Dear Heather & Staff - I have recentally purchased your two books "Eating for IBS" and "The First Year" IBS book. First they came very, very quickly. I've read "Eating for IBS" first and flagged the pages of recipes I liked and plan on trying. I feel like the book was written for me. I've started reading the other book today. I'm only part way thru it, but I had to stop and take time to email you. I've always had stomach issues - was told I was lactose intolerant as a young child. Then when I was 15 years old I began seeing a GI doctor and then after nearly 8 months they decided it was my gallbladder. I had that removed in 2003. I still had problems after that and went to see a pediatric GI doctor who said I had a senstive stomach, gave me a perscription for Elavil and send me on my way. I've dealt with being ill off and on for the last 7 years. Within the last 6 months I started getting sicker with everything I ate. I went to a new doctor and had every test known to man, and every test listed in your book, and everything was fine. But I am not fine. I was diagnosised with IBS but the doctor didn't have any information to offer me. I was also diagnosised with GERD. Anyways, I am seriously overhauling my diet as right now I eat a lot of fried foods, saucey foods, eat out a lot, and lots of processed foods. I'm trying to switch to more natural, non-processed, and organic foods. I even make my own bread one a week. (Which my boyfriend prefers much more than store bought bread!) I have ordered other books on homeopahtic medicines and aromatherapy books. I'm going to try yoga and meditation as I am also on an antidepressant and have anxiety. (See why I think you wrote these two books for me?!) I plan on finishing this book and really working hard at this. I want to feel better and feel like myself again. I've missed a lot of work due to diarrhea, constipation, and pain because of attacks. And it is extremely hard to explain to people that I work with because they don't understand what is wrong. I just wanted to say THANK YOU for writing these books. You have no idea how much I appreciate them, your website, and everything you have to offer. You have seriously changed my life...for the better. Thank you again. Amanda P. Pennsylvania
Speed of Delivery

55555 Product29 J. Johnson
Reviewed on 9/18/2011
I have read your books and have not felt better in the last ten years
No one, including doctors, suggested to me that IBS could be controlled by diet. I have been basically symptom free for 30 days, except for 1 or 2 episodes. Thank you for your years of work, and the ability to share it.

55555 Product28 Cheryl
Reviewed on 6/4/2011
Your books and website have been extremely helpful to me.
I can't begin to thank you enough for all of the work you have put into IBS solutions and information. To gain knowledge is a wonderful thing, but to share it is the best gift you can ever give to others. I recently went through 4 months of the worst IBS/Colitis episodes I have ever had. When I discovered your website and purchased your books I started to learn how to deal with my IBS/Colitis better by changing the way I eat. I have been to several doctors and they just didn't know what to do to help me. I felt like I was a guinea pig, as most treatments and medications didn't work on me. I was recently prescribed Zelnorm, and I ended up with the most severe ischemic colitis attack I have ever had - it lasted a day and a half. Needless to say I threw the Zelnorm away. Your book and website have been my salvation. You're the best

55555 Product27 B. Kenny
Reviewed on 3/3/2011
Dear Heather, I would also like to add my very, very grateful thanks for all the research and work you did to publish your book
It has changed my life drastically as I was almost homebound because of attacks I had quite frequently from diverticulitis. It took at least 7 months for digestion changes to take place and get things calmed down, but I no longer am afraid of eating the foods I know are safe and have eliminated the foods you have suggested. Thank you again for your wonderful book.

55555 Product26 Gay
Reviewed on 12/31/2010
I just wanted you to know that your book has been a lifeline for me this year
I developed IBS suddenly in the last 8 months of graduate school at age 52. After seeing three doctors and eating all the wrong foods, I found your book on the Internet. As I followed the principles and altered my diet, I was able to manage the symptoms and begin living a nearly normal life. I stilll have daily IBS symptoms but your guidelines helped me feel more normal, complete graduate school and deal with the stress without much pain. Hopefully my progress will improve faster now that I have graduated. I look forward to more info on your web site and am ready to try some more therapies. Thanks

55555 Product25 Tawny
Reviewed on 10/10/2010
First Year Book, the Tummy Care supplements and now acupuncture have helped so much.
I fired my regular doctors, all the pills they would give me made me worse. It is sad to say, because I am a nurse and work in the medical field, how bad Western medicine treats this issue. I have met so many people who have been diagnosed with this and are unaware of the help that is out there. People who know me told other people at work this isn't the real Tawny. After firing my doctors and getting off their medication and following your program and acupuncture finally this week a co-worker said, "Now, that is the 'real Tawny', she is back!" Not at 100% but on my way! I just wish everyone who suffers from this would find out there is help. But you have to find it yourself, doctors have no idea how to help. When I would bring up your book they would just blow me off! I see them in the hospital once in awhile, nursing pays my bills but I encourage patients to learn about whatever illness they have. The more educated one is about their illness the better they are. People need advocates, especially when they are ill and they don't have the energy to go look for it. Thank God for the internet, because while I was at home ill I spent time researching this and found you! Sorry to go on for so long, reading your story and learning this new way I wish I had learned 25 years ago when I was first diagnosed with it. Instead my life has been a fog, and somehow I have managed to survive. I am hoping my children will see how much diet affects one's life and how important the whole person (mind, body and spirit) affect your health. I just can't thank you enough! Even my sister in Japan who I sent your book to is doing better, and she suffers from this as well as lupus. God Bless!

55555 Product24 Kristen
Reviewed on 9/3/2010
I too have suffered with IBS since a young age
Dear Heather, I too have suffered with IBS since a young age and a friend gave me your book a couple years ago and I wanted to personally say THANK YOU!!! You are a true inspiration and you give everyone else out there a will to make it through the day. I have just stumbled upon your website and am thrilled to see you have a line of teas and more products coming out. It is about time!!! Thank you again for doing this for me and every other IBS patient out there. Thank you




Home | Shop for IBS | STORE FINDER
IBS Discussions & Message Boards | IBS News & Reviews | IBS Support Groups

IBS Diet | IBS Recipes | IBS Books | IBS Supplements | Yoga for IBS | Hypnosis for IBS
IBS Tummy Teas™ | Irritable Bowel Syndrome Glossary | IBS Symptoms
IBS Treatments | IBS Diet Plan | IBS Diarrhea | IBS Constipation
IBS Bloating & Stomach Gas | IBS Abdominal Pain | IBS Quick Tips

About Us | IBS Links | Search this Site | Site Map | Shipping & Returns | Privacy & Security
Contact Us | For Doctors & Dietitians | Wholesale | Co-packing Services

© 1999-2014, HelpForIBS.com.
USA Copyright Office Registration Number TXU 1-270-858 and others
All information & art is proprietary and may not be duplicated.
All rights reserved.

Help for IBS Legal & Medical Disclaimer
Help for IBS Trademarks