Help For Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) - Education, Support, & Self Help for Irritable Bowel Syndrome   
Heather & Company for IBS, LLC My Account
Shop for Irritable Bowel SyndromeIrritable Bowel Syndrome Discussion & Message BoardsIrritable Bowel Syndrome News & ReviewsStore Finder

HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99% of hacker crime.
Items in Cart:
QTY
Subtotal
0
0
Help for Irritable Bowel Syndrome Home
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Diet & Recipes
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Books
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Supplements
Yoga for Irritable Bowel Syndrome
Hypnosis for Irritable Bowel Syndrome
Tummy Teas for Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Product Reviews for

Eating for IBS
Diet & Cookbook
For All Symptoms
  (147 reviews)
Eating for IBS<br>Diet & Cookbook<BR><em>For All Symptoms</em> $15.29

(15% off $17.99 list price)

See Product Details

55555 Product4511 Harriet from Half Moon Bay, CA
Purchased on 6/11/2014
Reviewed on 7/2/2014
I am very pleased with your products and service.
Your acacia fiber was recommended to me by a Naturopath. Total reversal of what doctors had recommended. Thank you!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product4489 Sandra from La Verne, CA
Purchased on 6/3/2014
Reviewed on 6/24/2014
Cook Book
I was disappointed to see how light the print was and how small it is. I have problems with my vision and I have to use a magnifying glass, not what I want to do. Was hoping that you had just a cookbook without all the other stuff and a few more LESS gourmet items.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi there Sandra,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that the print is difficult for you to read. Unfortunately, we are not the book publishers, so we have no control over the physical appearance of the book itself, which was produced with standard fonts, type size, ink colors, etc. The publisher defaults to established press guidelines for all of those elements.

Eating for IBS was written with individuals with IBS in mind, so the extra information at the beginning of the book is critical to help place the recipes in the context of an IBS safe diet. Following the information at the beginning of the book has helped many people with IBS to alleviate symptoms that they have been experiencing for years.

Since people with IBS can often have restrictive diets, Heather likes to include unique ingredients in her recipes to ensure that her readers can maintain a fun, interesting, but safe, diet. There are also many, many recipes that are modifications of the mainstream, all-American recipes that it sounds like you prefer, so please check the chapters for soups, sandwiches, breads, main dish chicken recipes, and desserts for lots of examples that are fast and easy and not "gourmet".

We do have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, so you are welcome to send the book back if you are not satisfied.

Thanks again!

55555 Product4424 Barbara from Royersford, PA
Purchased on 4/9/2014
Reviewed on 5/26/2014
Found cookbook and preface to be very informative and recipes are great! Thank you so much
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

22 Product4415 Maureen from APO, AE
Purchased on 4/28/2014
Reviewed on 5/22/2014
needs to be updated
This book was published in 2000. So many things have changed since then. For example, she advocates a lot of soy products. Soy is highly allergenic and also contains antinutrients that block mineral absorption. I wouldn't touch unfermented soy with a billion-foot pole. She also advocates processed foods, such as breakfast cereal (with soy milk). These are just a few of the things that alarmed me about the book. Do some research on it.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Maureen - thank you very much for your feedback. Eating for IBS actually has been revised and updated several times but the publication date will remain listed as 2000. If that were to change, a new ISBN would be required, and I don't want to take that step as it causes hassles with book listings, publisher distributions, etc.

Soy is actually not one of the top allergens, though it is of course possible to be allergic to it. It does not affect nutrient absorption of any kind, and is in fact considered a top source of protein, phytonutrients, anti-oxidants, and other benefits. It has a strong correlation with prevention of heart disease and reproductive cancers, with both fermented and non-fermented sources of soy showing these benefits. You can avoid it if you wish, and just use other (rice, oat, almond, hemp, etc.) non-dairy replacements. A good, reputable, and current source of research for soy and other foods is the Physician's Committee for Responsible Medicine, http://pcrm.org/.

You can certainly avoid processed foods. I do, and the vast majority of recipes in Eating for IBS do as well. But I get many, many requests from people for brand name, IBS safe items such as cereals that they can eat without having to cook. I try to include that information for their benefit. Whole grain (especially whole wheat) cereals are a huge IBS trigger for almost everyone, so people need to work around that with things like instant oatmeal, or oat/corn/rice cereals and avoid the bran and granola options that are just too high in insoluble fiber.

There are years of research behind Eating for IBS - that's why there are extensive footnotes throughout citing the primary sources of information. The First Year IBS book is similarly researched and annotated.

Please feel free to modify the guidelines and recipes to suit you. It's meant to be as wide-ranging a book as possible, so that it can be adapted by everyone from vegans to people who would live at fast food restaurants if they could. Definitely find your own middle ground so you are eating in a way that makes you both happy and healthy.

Best,
Heather

55555 Product4410 Mariangelys from NEW BRITAIN, CT
Purchased on 4/27/2014
Reviewed on 5/18/2014
Very satisfied
Hello!! I am very satisfied with the service given and the book. Thank you!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4391 Elaine from Lutz, FL
Purchased on 4/20/2014
Reviewed on 5/12/2014
As usual everything handled perfectly.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4330 Beverly from Jacksonville, FL
Purchased on 3/29/2014
Reviewed on 4/19/2014
The most important thing I learned from Heather's book is that I have to include more soluble fiber in my diet. That has made a dramatic difference with my IBS. Thank you Heather for sharing your experience, knowledge, and products!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4315 Kimberly from Evanston, IL
Purchased on 3/24/2014
Reviewed on 4/14/2014
Life Changing Information
The insight and information Heather gives us through her books and web site are invaluable to everyone. If you don't have IBS, the odds are that someone close to you does and is suffering needlessly. This information will get anyone on the path to good heatlh but especially those of us with IBS. I can't thank you enough Heather.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4311 Robert from Whitefish, MT
Purchased on 3/23/2014
Reviewed on 4/13/2014
excellent
well written with practical advice and solid science. Appreciate the flexibility evident in author's advice.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi there,

I'm so glad you are pleased with the Eating for IBS Diet and Cookbook!

I apologize for any inconvenience with shipping. We normally ship orders the next business day after they are placed.

I see that your order shipped out 3/24/14 and was delivered 3 days later. Usually shipments take between 2-5 business days after the order is placed, so it seems your order arrived 4 days after you placed your order.

Again, I am sorry if the shipping time was not satisfactory but I am glad you are enjoying the book!

Best regards,
Laura Tuscher - Heather's Tummy Care Representative

333 Product4265 Laurie from Las Vegas, NV
Purchased on 3/12/2014
Reviewed on 4/2/2014
Many of the receipes I'm unable to use because I'm gluten sensitive.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Laurie,

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to use many of the recipes due to your gluten intolerance. This cookbook is specific for IBS-safe recipes and not gluten sensitivities. Following a gluten free diet is much more difficult than following the IBS diet, and some people find it easier to start with a gluten free cookbook and modify those recipes for IBS. For Heather's recipes, you may be able to substitute gluten free soluble fiber staples like rice, rice noodles, potatoes, cornmeal and polenta, oatmeal (should be labeled as gluten free so there is no cross contamination from other grains) quinoa, root vegetables, tapioca, amaranth, buckwheat, and soy.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help you in the future.

Best,
Delia - Heather's Tummy Care Representative

4444 Product4258 Rosemarie from East Greenbush, NY
Purchased on 3/10/2014
Reviewed on 3/31/2014
The information about IBS is very good and very helpful.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4216 John from Seattle, WA
Purchased on 2/24/2014
Reviewed on 3/17/2014
Cust Service not needed .... VERY happy with the book
My gosh, been using the recipes and what a difference. Thank you so much for all your research!!!!!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4147 Sandra from Englewood, FL
Purchased on 2/4/2014
Reviewed on 2/25/2014
Thanks for the recipes. It is a big help.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product4137 Lisa from Lenoir City, TN
Purchased on 1/31/2014
Reviewed on 2/21/2014
The Book
I found the book interesting although I am lactose intolerant and gluten free and have IBS, so the recipes were not helpful for me..
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product4035 Susan from Toronto, ON
Purchased on 11/22/2013
Reviewed on 1/9/2014
IBS Cookbook !!
I thought I already new a lot about IBS but reading this wonderful book has giving me so much more knowledge and insight into how to eat and cook. Heather keep up your wonderful work.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product4029 Pat from Limestone, TN
Purchased on 12/16/2013
Reviewed on 1/7/2014
Good helpful information!
I have had one week with no problems!! I am being very careful still, but life is better... even had the courage to go to the new Hobbit move which is 2hr 40 min. long and did fine...no popcorn!! Have not had the courage to try the fiber supplement yet...I have never had luck with any fiber supplement I have tried...but I am still thinking about trying it. Very happy to hear I can eat angel food cake!! It has been great to have a safe desert. Working on trying some of the recipes. Thank you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product3981 Leola from Tulsa, OK
Purchased on 12/1/2013
Reviewed on 12/22/2013
In all, well worth the money.
The tips on trigger foods and travel are worth the price of the book. I need a chapter for diabetics for the book to work for me. The recipes are for large amounts and for ingredients that I do not have and do not have an easy way to get. (Love the peppermint caps and tea. They work. Thank you.)
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3970 Barbara from Tenafly, NJ
Purchased on 11/25/2013
Reviewed on 12/17/2013
Used it only a few times but love the recipes i
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product3965 Ann from Henrico, VA
Purchased on 11/19/2013
Reviewed on 12/15/2013
Eating for IBS Diet & Cookbook
I bought this book last year for myself. I have used many of the recipes but found they often took more time than I thought. Also, the ingredients are not what I normally keep in my pantry. The book I just bought is a gift to another IBS person.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3918 Sonja from Gilbert, AZ
Purchased on 11/7/2013
Reviewed on 11/29/2013
Love all the information, especially to know I am not alone. Anxious to start the recipies.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3900 Janet from Waterford, MI
Purchased on 10/31/2013
Reviewed on 11/21/2013
Iam learning so much from the book, and feeling so much better.
All your facts on the IBS, were like I was writing it myself. At first I was confused, now it so much clear. A new way of living, after years of suffering. Was losing faith, but now Iam back. Thank you so much sincerely Janet
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3885 Joyce from Cincinatti, OH
Purchased on 10/24/2013
Reviewed on 11/14/2013
Great book. Informative, takes away pain of IBS and gives solutions and peace of mind
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3796 Joseph from Harrison, NY
Purchased on 9/28/2013
Reviewed on 10/21/2013
It provides me with the insight that I need about what foods and dietary aides are helpful in combating IBS.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3786 Jeanne from Fort Myers, FL
Purchased on 9/26/2013
Reviewed on 10/18/2013
The information was very helpful. Too bad you can't get the same information from the drs. that you see.
I also loved the recipes.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product3779 Lilly from Agoura Hills, CA
Purchased on 9/23/2013
Reviewed on 10/16/2013
I have acid reflux,many receipes have things cannot eat.
I have tried to eat things that do not trigger -however am still spending a lot of time in the bathroom. Am sure change like this has to take time. Do not want to go back to Pepto Pismo, what can you suggest?
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Lilly,
Thank you so much taking the time to write a review of the Eating for IBS Diet & Cookbook.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the speed of your delivery and that our customer service has been helpful.
People with Irritable Bowel Syndrome are statistically more likely to have upper GI problems (like GERD or reflux) as well. The good news is that the vast majority of dietary changes that help IBS will also help prevent or minimize heartburn - there are just a few special considerations you'll need to take.
The general IBS diet guidelines of low fat, high soluble fiber, and the careful addition of insoluble fiber, are well-suited to reflux as well. In particular, going low fat will be very beneficial for IBS and reflux both, so make sure you're avoiding the high fat trigger foods. While acidic foods can sometimes (but not always) bother IBS, they are very hard on reflux, so be careful with citrus, vinegars, and cooked tomatoes. Peppermint is wonderful for IBS but difficult for many people with reflux.
I would suggest the IBS dietary guidelines combined with the extra cautions for heartburn, and also the Fennel Tummy Tea. It will help IBS symptoms and also heartburn - unlike peppermint, it cannot worsen reflux.
If you can't use the book at all please do return it.
You can return the book at any time, simply return it with the invoice for a full refund, excluding shipping costs. There is no time limit.
Thanks again Lilly,

Best,
Emily Webb-Heather’s Tummy Care Representative


55555 Product3722 Sharon from Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased on 9/15/2013
Reviewed on 10/6/2013
Recipes and information
I wish I had this information 20 years ago. The recipes are great - have had the cookbook almost 3 weeks and fixed a number of breads, desserts, side dishes and main dishes. Thanks
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3647 Delores from Marion, IL
Purchased on 3/25/2013
Reviewed on 9/9/2013
Great!!!
The Eating for IBS Diet information has been a life saver for my husband. He feels good for longer periods at a time than he has in 20 years. He also knows what to do if he does experience an episode. Your diet information and Tummy Fiber have been a blessing.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3605 Gloria from Parksville, BC
Purchased on 7/17/2013
Reviewed on 8/28/2013
recipes are excellent, delicious, nutritious
The products & information Heather supplies are are so helpful! Thanks for making my life easier. Gloria
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product3582 Pat from gulfport, MS
Purchased on 8/1/2013
Reviewed on 8/22/2013
tea works very well. once i find soy cheese here cookbook will be a big help i hope
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3583 Patricia from Alturas, CA
Purchased on 8/1/2013
Reviewed on 8/22/2013
great book, wonderfully fast service
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

22 Product3540 Patricia from Summerfield, FL
Purchased on 7/23/2013
Reviewed on 8/13/2013
Most of the recipes I cannot use
I have to be very careful of the sugar in my diet and the carbs. So eating most of these recipes is out of the question. However I would like to say that the Acacia Tummy Fiber I bought at my local health store has had remarkable results with my gut and its problems.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hello Patricia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a product review. We appreciate your feedback.

We're so sorry that the recipes from Eating for IBS are not to your liking. The book was written in accordance with the IBS Diet plan that Heather Van Vorous devised. Many people are surprised to learn that fresh white breads and other complex carb foods like potatoes, sweet potatoes and pasta are actually soluble fiber foods. They work to help resolve both diarrhea and constipation. These are in fact your good safe foods - all soluble fiber foods are going to be plant foods, and all will be complex carbohydrates. The only simple carbohydrate is refined sugar, which you can certainly avoid. You can find more information about the IBS diet and carbohydrates here: http://www.helpforibs.com/diet/faq.asp#make_me_fat.

If diabetes is your concern and you need to restrict sugar, that is just fine for IBS as well - check here http://www.helpforibs.com/diet/faq.asp#diabetes

Please know that we have a 100% money back guarantee on all our products. If, at any time, for any reason whatsoever, you are not completely satisfied with anything purchased through this website, simply return it with the invoice for a full refund, excluding shipping costs. There is no time limit.

We are thrilled to hear that the Acacia Tummy Fiber is working for you! Remember that we offer a 50% Rebate Coupon on your first in-store purchase; the coupon can be found on our website: http://www.helpforibs.com/shop/rebateplushandout.pdf.

Laura Tuscher
Executive Assistant for Heather's Tummy Care



55555 Product3510 Mary from Mechanicsville, VA
Purchased on 7/11/2013
Reviewed on 8/6/2013
I ordered both books and peppermint tea
I have been extremely pleased with both the peppermint tea and the books. I have read both books from cover to cover and they have given me more help than any doctor. The recipes in the IBS cookbook are easy and delicious. Most importantly, the tea and diet have given me more relief than I have had in the two years of my IBS symptoms. I am a new and devoted customer.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3496 Jan from Boise, ID
Purchased on 7/11/2013
Reviewed on 8/1/2013
Wore Out My First Book
I live by this book and literally wore it out and had to but a new one. But I kept the old one for reference.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3444 Evyann from Sugar land, TX
Purchased on 6/18/2013
Reviewed on 7/18/2013
Great information and recipes!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3424 Virginia from SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Purchased on 6/22/2013
Reviewed on 7/13/2013
book a wonderful help to my newly diagnoised IBS
I am also a diabetic and notice high carbos.. but I have stopped some trigger foods and that has been very helpful. Thank you for I have stopped most of the trigger foods and that has been helpful. I am also a diabetic and need to work on the carbos. A piece of sourdough bread has been an easy way to start a meal. Thank you for your book. v]irginia snyder
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3423 Patricia from Sylvania, OH
Purchased on 5/24/2013
Reviewed on 7/11/2013
Great tips and recipes. Easy to follow and make in a short time.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3396 Karen from pawleys island, SC
Purchased on 6/15/2013
Reviewed on 7/6/2013
Excellent cookbook - use it all the time now. Wish I had it last year!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product3381 Gratsch from Bradenton, FL
Purchased on 6/9/2013
Reviewed on 6/30/2013
I'm trying
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3358 Star from Sacramento, CA
Purchased on 6/4/2013
Reviewed on 6/25/2013
Changed my life
After suffering for nearly 13 years and not knowing why. I now have a handle on my health and my freedom again. So happy, no ecstatic that I came across your web site and your amazing products.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product3341 Veona from youngstown, FL
Purchased on 6/1/2013
Reviewed on 6/23/2013
new info for ibs diet
my ibs is under better control with this diet
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3322 Sharon from Santa Rosa, CA
Purchased on 5/23/2013
Reviewed on 6/13/2013
IBS Cookbook
I have tried a number of the recipes, and they've been very good. I'm extremely pleased with this cookbook. Thanks!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product3269 Eleanor from fontanelle, NE
Purchased on 5/6/2013
Reviewed on 5/28/2013
I have learned a lot but I am still going over the book so I can remember it.
I haven't tried any of the recipes, but I intend to.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hello Eleanor,

Thank you for taking the time to write a product review.

Please let us know if you have any questions as you are reading through the book or trying the recipes - Help@HelpForIBS.com.

Enjoy!

Joanna

55555 Product3239 Joy from New Hartford, CT
Purchased on 4/25/2013
Reviewed on 5/16/2013
Have not tried many recipes yet but the ones I have are delicious.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3216 Rory from Rochester, WI
Purchased on 4/17/2013
Reviewed on 5/8/2013
Gave me more insight on how to eat.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3198 Edward from PORT ST. LUCIE, FL
Purchased on 4/14/2013
Reviewed on 5/5/2013
WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH YOUR IBS COOK BOOK
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product3167 Lynne from Mesa, AZ
Purchased on 4/3/2013
Reviewed on 4/27/2013
Great service.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

22 Product3155 Judy from Selma, IN
Purchased on 4/4/2013
Reviewed on 4/25/2013
It Came Back!!
I have had IBS for over20 years so I was over the moon when I tried your products and the diarrhea was gone.....for about 6 months. So I ordered the IBS book. There is no way on God's precious earth that my husband of 51 years is going to eat tofu in any form and there is no way I am going to make 2 separate meals, that's #1. #2 we can't afford it. So I am back where I started.All my love,Heather.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hello Judy,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry you were not completely satisfied with the book. We know that no one wants to cook two meals for every meal of the day, so Heather wrote this book specifically so it would be safe for those for IBS, but also enjoyable for friends and family who do not have IBS. You shouldn't have to make two meals, just one, because it will be both IBS friendly and appealing to everyone, whether or not they have IBS at all. You do not have to follow each recipe exactly how it is listed. Please feel free to swap out skinless chicken breasts for fish in the seafood recipes, or chicken for tofu in the vegetarian dishes. It is up to you and what you (and your husband) like best!

You can also find hundreds of IBS safe recipes on our website here: http://www.helpforibs.com/messageboards/ubbthreads/recipe_index.php

These are recipes other IBSers have submitted. They are approved by Heather to be IBS Safe and most of them are very simple and can be enjoyed by everyone!

I will also email you directly to further discuss how the products are helping your IBS symptoms.

I hope this helps! Please feel free to email us directly if you have any further questions on the recipes or need any further suggestions.

All the best,
Joanna

4444 Product3134 Jacqueline from Palm Springs, CA
Purchased on 3/31/2013
Reviewed on 4/21/2013
Helpful
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hello Jacqueline,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you think the Eating for IBS Diet and Cookbook is helpful.

I am so sorry you do not think our customer service and speed of delivery were satisfactory. Was there a problem with your order or shipping time? We strive to have excellent customer service and try to ship all orders the following business day so you do not have to wait very long for your order.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do.

Best,
Joanna

55555 Product2990 Melinda from Lakeport, CA
Purchased on 2/21/2013
Reviewed on 3/14/2013
Wonderful.
I am learning as I go and constantly review the books. I bought a copy of one of the books and gave it to the owner of the health food store here in Lakeport. I have also shown it to my doctor. The doctors need HELP. Thank you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product2925 Cynthia from Aurora, CO
Purchased on 2/5/2013
Reviewed on 2/26/2013
great delivery of product
Cookbook is too generic and recipes are too easy and bland
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Cynthia - thanks so much for your feedback! I'm so sorry if the recipes seem too easy - I really wanted this book to be accessible for everyone, whether they'd been cooking gourmet meals for years, or they had never boiled water in their life. That's why there are 175 recipes - I tried to be as comprehensive as possible, so there are all-American traditional favorites as well as exotic ethnic options.

If you find things too bland by all means increase the herbs and spices called for in the recipes. I tend to season things very generously, but if it's not enough for you please use more - in general, most all herbs and spices are digestive aids, so there is no need to eat bland food just because you have IBS. Foods should be delicious as well as safe for IBS!

Best,
Heather

55555 Product2906 Patricia from Kodak, TN
Purchased on 2/1/2013
Reviewed on 2/23/2013
Great
This book has been so helpful to me. It has given me Details on how to eat and what to eat, plus the wonderful recipes. I have tried several already and they are very good. Thanks
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2869 Judith from Albany, OR
Purchased on 1/26/2013
Reviewed on 2/16/2013
I am so happy i found your products and books online because it has made a huge improvment in my life, Thank you Heather
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2849 Marianne from Running Springs, CA
Purchased on 1/20/2013
Reviewed on 2/11/2013
Over all a must read
The book explains so much in detail. Gives you a list of safe snacks and what to eat while you are in pain and experiencing symptoms. Also has a lot of great recipes, however they are mostly gourmet. Would have liked more plain easy, fast recipes too.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2764 Amanda from dalton, GA
Purchased on 1/6/2013
Reviewed on 1/27/2013
Great.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2748 Virginia from Danvers, MA
Purchased on 1/2/2013
Reviewed on 1/24/2013
I have only had this cookbook for a couple weeks but so far I feel better and the recipes are delicious.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2669 Marilynn from East Aurora, NY
Purchased on 12/18/2012
Reviewed on 1/8/2013
Book Review/ Plan review
This book has been a real saving grace for me, having had GI problems for many years and finding out that traditional medicine had no answers except pills, which I refused to take! This whole program is beautifully set up and easy to follow. Questions are answered promptly and helpfully. I do feel that some of the recipes contain ingredients that are not commonly a part of my kitchen..I cook very little. But I am finding, too, that I can revise and substitute, and am getting better at it. Thank you Heather for all you do for all of us who have been at wit's end about what to do with this problem, while still trying to live a "normal" active life! You're the best!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product2644 Karen from Winnipeg, MB
Purchased on 11/19/2012
Reviewed on 12/31/2012
This book had a lot of great recipes that even my husband will eat!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

22 Product2645 Tiffany from Dorr, MI
Purchased on 12/10/2012
Reviewed on 12/31/2012
some things made me sick
somethings are helpful,somethings made me sick
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Tiffany - I'm so sorry to hear some things made you sick. If you can give me more details about what is helping and what isn't I should have some suggestions for you.

Best,
Heather

55555 Product2630 Martha from Whittier, CA
Purchased on 12/5/2012
Reviewed on 12/26/2012
happy customer! enjoy the receipies
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2553 Sharon from Penn Valey, CA
Purchased on 11/16/2012
Reviewed on 12/7/2012
Very good product
I think the Acacia Fiber is wonderful but I'm concerned that Heather's focus on soluble vs non-soluble fiber does not consider the thousands of people now allergic to genetically modified food, especially wheat/grains. I have suffered with IBS for years and now find that taking grains out of my diet is healing my gut. Please pass this on to Heather.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Sharon - thanks so much for your feedback! To avoid GMO grains just choose certified organic options. They are never genetically modified. You can also avoid grains entirely and use root veggies for your soluble fiber foundation. That is just fine!

Best,
Heather

55555 Product2475 Joanne from chicago, IL
Purchased on 10/19/2012
Reviewed on 11/19/2012
great receipes
wondering if you have any opinion on chia seeds as they relate to ibs. thanks, joanne
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Joannne - thanks for the kind comments. So glad you like the recipes! Chia seeds have about 50/50 soluble/insoluble fiber , so be cautious with them. Treat them like any other insoluble fiber food and follow the guidelines - most importantly, have them with a soluble fiber base.

Best,
Heather


55555 Product2476 Cherryl from Standish, ME
Purchased on 10/29/2012
Reviewed on 11/19/2012
very helpful
I have used several of the recipes in the cookbook and am totally enjoying them and the information I needed to get myself eating right and back on track.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product2473 Sandra from Monroeville, PA
Purchased on 10/28/2012
Reviewed on 11/18/2012
Review of "Eating for IBS"
Was somewhat disappointed but did not give a bad rating because the reason was partly due to an allergy to soy and any form of sugar. I found only a few recipes that I would want to cook. I would like to see more recipes for casseroles or alternatives to popular food like pizza and pasta.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Sandra - thanks so much for your feedback. Please feel free to use any non-dairy substitutes instead of soy. There are lots of great rice, almond, oat, and hemp milk alternatives now, and they are just fine for IBS.

I'm not sure if these will fit the bill for you, but there are pizza and pasta recipes in the book. Check pages 219-223 for pizza, and 208-218 plus 134-138 for pasta and noodle dishes.

I don't do too many casseroles, but there is a great tuna casserole recipe on the website here http://www.helpforibs.com/news/newsletter/07/121107.html#fooddiet

If you are looking for even more recipes, there are hundreds of recipes submitted by customers on the IBS Recipe Exchange Index here: http://www.helpforibs.com/messageboards/ubbthreads/recipe_index.php

Best,
Heather

333 Product2466 Barbara from Surprise, AZ
Purchased on 10/24/2012
Reviewed on 11/14/2012
I'm so glad I found these products....
All the information I've received has been more helpful than anything my doctors have told me. I am eating the IBS Diet way, using the fennel tea (can't do peppermint) using the fiber. I don't care for the recipes for entrees....don't care for the spices, fish, tofu, etc....but I am using the information to make up my own. I love the breads.... I'm staying away from all desserts..and so far, that is ok. Thanks for all the help!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Barbara! Thanks so much for your feedback.

You are right on the money to use the diet info in the book to suit your own tastes, and modify your own favorite recipes. That is the whole point of the guidelines, so that everyone can cook and eat both safely and deliciously, whatever their food preferences. You can also adjust the recipes in the book to suit you, and substitute the herbs and spices you prefer, or omit seasonings altogether, etc.

You might also check out the chicken entrée recipes, as those almost all come from my grandmother, so they are very much all-American traditional style dinner dishes. Or swap out chicken for fish in the seafood recipes, or chicken for tofu in the vegetarian dishes, etc. It is up to you and what you like best!

Best,
Heather

333 Product2379 Nancy from Seattle, WA
Purchased on 9/29/2012
Reviewed on 10/20/2012
I've skimmed the book and find the principals helpful. However, I live alone and many of the recipes are for much larger families. Also I simply do better with "' 4 or 5" ingredient or less type of cookbooks.
I really found Heather's IBS Acacia fiber @ 1/2 tsp twice a day, the fennel and peppermint teas very helpful for getting relief. I had an acture attach, which may have been both IBS and gall bladder, In addition to Heather's above products I also did a gall bladder cleanse of juicing 1/3rd beet, 2 carrots and 1/2 cucumber once or twice a day. Anyway, I'm OK now. I plan to continue using the Heather's Acacia fiber @ 1/2 tsp twice a day and fennel tea, which I can get at my health food store @ Westwood Village shopping center, Seattle.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Nancy - thank you so much for your feedback! You can actually easily halve most, if not all, of the recipes in Eating for IBS. They have all been tested both ways, and I typically do this myself as I'm usually only cooking for two people.

Many of the recipes were originally meant to make two servings, but for publication the publisher wanted an average of 4 servings per recipe, so I had to test doubling the smaller recipes.

If you want very simple, fast and easy recipes, there are a lot of them in the book but I also focused specifically on that for the Heather Cooks DVD, in response to reader requests. You can see the recipes for that here http://www.helpforibs.com/shop/books/hcooks.asp Those are literally recipes you can throw together in just 10 minutes in the kitchen, and I tried to focus on All-American options.

For Eating for IBS, though, in order to be comprehensive I tried to give the widest range possible with 175 recipes so there was something for everyone, from standard worknight fare to ethnic options to holiday special event meals.

If you have specific recipe or ingredient questions, just let me know!

Best,
Heather

333 Product2344 Sharyn from San R, CA
Purchased on 9/19/2012
Reviewed on 10/10/2012
Reviw
I liked the explanation and list of foods. The receipes were not to my liking. We do not eat many of the types of food presented. I have found substitues for the bad foods, such as gluten free and dairy free parducts in the stores. I would like to make a meatloaf using the good fats.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hello Sharyn,

I am so sorry you did not like some of the recipes in the cookbook.

If you are looking for more recipes, there are hundreds of recipes submitted by customers on the IBS Recipe Exchange Index here: http://www.helpforibs.com/messageboards/ubbthreads/recipe_index.php

If you do a page search for "meatloaf", you will find over 10 IBS safe meatloaf recipes!

I hope this helps. Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Best,
Joanna
Heather's Tummy Care Representative

55555 Product2237 Kimberly from Butner, NC
Purchased on 8/29/2012
Reviewed on 9/19/2012
I really love the book. I originally bought it for my daughter who was newly diagnosed with ibs this summer.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product2174 Jennifer from Palo Alto, CA
Purchased on 8/18/2012
Reviewed on 9/8/2012
Got some great recipes for sensitive stomachs.i liked the diverse ingredients and possibility yo make tast dishes
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product2138 Jeff from chillicothe, OH
Purchased on 8/14/2012
Reviewed on 9/5/2012
great service and products
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product2125 Anne from Pacifica, CA
Purchased on 8/10/2012
Reviewed on 8/31/2012
12 years old and somewhat out of date.
No mention of possible Celiac disease nor wheat sensitivity causing IBS symptoms. I followed the IBS diet for about 5 days and got progressively worse. Only by doing research and eliminating wheat did I find some relief. Doctors are very ignorant about these conditions. I would recommend that the IBS book be updated to include wheat sensitivity.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Anne - thank you for your feedback. Celiac is actually listed in the book (and on this website) as one of the disorders that has to be ruled out for a diagnosis of IBS. Gluten intolerance (celiac) is a separate issue from IBS, and Eating for IBS is not focused on celiac or gluten intolerance. You can combine both dietary issues if you need to, that's not super uncommon, but most people with IBS do not also have celiac. They are two different disorders.

The book does address the issue with whole wheat, due to the insoluble fiber in wheat bran, that comes up with IBS, and you'll notice that the recipes do not use whole wheat. The wheat bran/insoluble fiber issue is distinct from a true wheat intolerance or gluten sensitivity, however.

If the book doesn't fit your needs you are certainly welcome to return it.

My apologies,
Heather

4444 Product2128 Olga` from New Bedford, MA
Purchased on 8/10/2012
Reviewed on 8/31/2012
I never hardly ever get hertburn however sometmes this pill gives me hertburn and Inever know when its going to do that
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product2083 Bonnie from Powhatan, VA
Purchased on 7/31/2012
Reviewed on 8/22/2012
Too many recipes with soy milk. Can not digest
Odd ingredients not normally stocked in my kitchen. Info in IBSEN very helpful. Not working for me yet. Started fiber on 8/8/2012.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hello Bonnie,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry you were not completely satisfied with the Eating for IBS Diet and Cookbook.

Instead of soy milk you can use oat, rice or almond milk instead.

Can you please let me know the specific ingredients you do not normally stock in your kitchen? We may be able to help you find some suggestions for simple alternatives.

There is a very wide range of recipes in the book - some are fancy enough for holiday dinner parties but many are fast and easy for quick meals. If there are ingredients you don't like you can probably simply omit them.

You can also look through our Recipe Exchange Index:

Here other IBSers have submitted their favorite IBS recipes!

With the Tummy Fiber, you will need to give it a little more time to see some real results. Keep gradually increasing by 1/2 to 1 teaspoon every 4-5 days. Your resolving daily dose to reach will depend on whether you are prone to diarrhea or constipation. If you are prone to diarrhea you will most likely resolve at a daily dose of 1-3 Tablespoons a day. If you are prone to constipation you will need more and should resolve at a daily dose of 3-5 Tablespoons a day.

Please stick with it and let us know if you are still not getting relief in a few weeks. You should notice more and more results as you are gradually increasing your daily dose.

I hope this helps! If you are still unsatisfied with the products, please feel free to return them for a full refund.

Best,
Joanna Ricken
Heather's Tummy Care Representative

333 Product2024 Gail from APPLE VALLEY, CA
Purchased on 7/21/2012
Reviewed on 8/11/2012
I have enjoyed reading the IBS Book
I have a few issues with the book. I'm a diabetic & most of the recipes are including more sugar & carbs than I can have. The fact that Heather mentions to give up sweeteners is a biggy for me. I feel there are many people with diabetes & that should be taken into consideration in this book
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Gail - Thank you so much for your feedback. There is an article about IBS and diabetes and managing the dietary needs for both here http://www.helpforibs.com/diet/faq.asp#diabetes that should be helpful. And there are details about artificial sweeteners and IBS here http://www.helpforibs.com/news/newsletter/06/090506.html#askheather

Diabetes and IBS aren't a super common combination, so I wasn't able to address that too much in the book. I have tried to add information about the overlaps on the website instead.

Do make sure you're using a soluble fiber supplement. That will help control IBS symptoms and soluble fiber also stabilizes blood sugar levels, so it's good for diabetes as well.

Best,
Heather

333 Product1994 Charlotte from McMinnville, OR
Purchased on 7/15/2012
Reviewed on 8/5/2012
recipes
I found many of the recipes had too much sugar, too many ingredients I don't have and take too long to make. I found the information about how to eat for IBS very helpful
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hello Charlotte,

I am so sorry you did not find the Eating for IBS Diet and Cookbook completely satisfactory. You can find more IBS safe recipes, that may be more simple, here: http://www.helpforibs.com/messageboards/ubbthreads/recipe_index.php.

Also, we do have a full money back guarantee. So if you are not satisfied with the book, please feel free to return it. You can find more information on product returns here: http://www.helpforibs.com/shop/shipping.asp

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Best,
Joanna Ricken
Heather's Tummy Care Representative

55555 Product1984 Joyce from jerome, MI
Purchased on 7/8/2012
Reviewed on 8/4/2012
great book, has really helped in a short time.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1936 Ruthie from Portland, OR
Purchased on 7/6/2012
Reviewed on 7/27/2012
This book had a lot of great advice and was easy to understand.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product1917 Ashley from Stapleton, AL
Purchased on 7/2/2012
Reviewed on 7/24/2012
I'm really enjoying the book and have tried some of the recipes. Doctors couldn't help my IBS but things are looking much better now. Thanks!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product1881 Donna from Madison, GA
Purchased on 6/26/2012
Reviewed on 7/19/2012
I can't afford to make the recipes right now.
See the summary.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Donna - I'm so sorry to hear this. Are there specific ingredients you're trying to avoid? I can give you suggestions for recipes to work around that. In general, most of the chicken, pasta, breakfast, and quick bread recipes are all very mainstream and have regular, affordable grocery store ingredients. If you're looking for something other than that, please let me know.

Best,
Heather

4444 Product1791 Pamela from Harding, PA
Purchased on 6/13/2012
Reviewed on 7/4/2012
The book is very helpful and provided a down to earth explanation of IBS and how to move forward.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1767 Cindy from Orland Park, IL
Purchased on 6/6/2012
Reviewed on 7/3/2012
Cookbook is for my daughter, Most of the recipes are pretty easy to make.
Daughter made the rice pudding and she loved it.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1765 Karen from YORK, PA
Purchased on 6/10/2012
Reviewed on 7/2/2012
This book has been a God send. No more attacks sine I changed my diet. Thank You so very much.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1698 Suzi from Yakima, WA
Purchased on 5/24/2012
Reviewed on 6/14/2012
I feel so grateful to have found your products
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1687 Carole from WEATHERFORD, TX
Purchased on 5/21/2012
Reviewed on 6/11/2012
Love your products, thank you so much.
I also bought Peppermint oil caps and Peppermint Tummy teas from a local Health Foods store. It was the first relief for stomach cramps in a year. I keep the tea handy and sip it during day. Thank you so much,after two doctors and many test I can deal with this so much better.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1636 Barbara from Holden, MA
Purchased on 5/13/2012
Reviewed on 6/4/2012
Great book with a lot of good guidance and answers to living with IBS!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product1622 Loretta from Cleveland Heights, OH
Purchased on 5/11/2012
Reviewed on 6/1/2012
Book should be updated to reflect the products on the market now.
There have been many improvements in the products in the stores that folks with IBS can use. I make many substitutions,especially since I am lactose intolerant. Everyones tolerance is different, for instance I can tolerate meat in small quantities occasionally. I find that I need fruits in my diet to avoid becoming constipated.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Loretta - the book has been updated repeatedly since first publication, but you are right, the products in grocery stores change so quickly that there is almost no way to keep that kind of information current in the book.

I do try and keep a current list of safe brand name food recommendations on the website here http://www.helpforibs.com/messageboards/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=diet&Number=120336&page=0&view=expanded&sb=5&o=&fpart=1
and also a list of snacks with brand names here http://www.helpforibs.com/messageboards/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=diet&Number=65272&page=0&view=expanded&sb=5&o=&fpart=1

If you have suggestions to add to those lists you are welcome to email me and I'll put them on. It's fast and easy to keep things up to date on the website. It's not nearly as practical to try and do it with books, especially when publishers really don't like to update and revise press runs more than every few years at best. And even though I'm the author, I am at the mercy of the publisher!

Hope this helps a bit,
Heather

4444 Product1594 Joyce from Pierre, SD
Purchased on 5/8/2012
Reviewed on 5/29/2012
helpful information but recipes require more than
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Joyce - thank you so much for your feedback. Can you please let me know the specific recipes you're struggling with? Just about all of the recipe ingredients should be widely available at regular grocery stores, but let me know and I should have some suggestions for good alternatives to things you can't easily get locally.

There is a very wide range of recipes in the book - some are fancy enough for holiday dinner parties but many are fast and easy for quick meals. If there are ingredients you don't like you can also probably simply omit them.

Best,
Heather

55555 Product1580 Lisa from Coeur d Alene, ID
Purchased on 4/29/2012
Reviewed on 5/25/2012
Speed of Delivery is excellent, and products are truly a lifesaver
I am glad I have the opportunity to thank Heather for this wonderful guide. I have struggled for 15 years and I always knew diet would help but as most found it very difficult to figure out. Thank You Heather
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product1572 Ellen from Gainesville, FL
Purchased on 5/1/2012
Reviewed on 5/22/2012
Helpful book
The opening chapters of the book give a brief explanation of IBS and some helpful diet tips, but it is mostly a collection of recipes. I haven't tried any of the recipes yet but I plan to. It's a good book for anyone struggling with this painful and life-altering disorder.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1490 Michael from Wyomissing, PA
Purchased on 4/11/2012
Reviewed on 5/4/2012
This book has been very helpful.
The book has been very helpful in helping me create guidelines in my diet that have helped minimize the effects of IBS. I am fortunate not to have a severed case and can venture, a little into some foods that may cause reactions. I am very careful and have seen and felt a big change. I will continue to monitor my diet and follow the suggestions. I am beginng to try some of the recipes to add to my diet.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1466 Elaine from Montclair, NJ
Purchased on 4/10/2012
Reviewed on 5/1/2012
Great IBS Handbook
Really helped in enhancing diet choices. I carry it with me even when traveling.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1467 Alice from Irvine, CA
Purchased on 4/10/2012
Reviewed on 5/1/2012
Good recipes; hekpful info; thanks for the "chart"
I like your Web site for good insight into the IBS problem and for offering products that are truly helpful. You cover details that no other medical or lay person seems to have access to -- or, perhaps, refuses to acknowledge. Thank you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1417 Barbara from Chicago, IL
Purchased on 3/31/2012
Reviewed on 4/22/2012
The book is very informative - the background information provides insight; the recipes look terrific. Customer Service after trouble receiving an order was excellent.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1303 Christine from Athol, MA
Purchased on 3/13/2012
Reviewed on 4/3/2012
This is my second copy of your Eating for IBS Diet and Cook Book. Someone borrowed my first copy and I never got it back! Love it.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product1276 Linda from Bradenton, FL
Purchased on 3/6/2012
Reviewed on 3/28/2012
good book
I have a lot of food sensativities, so most of the recipes I am unable to eat. All the gas & bloating are gone so are the doubling over cramping before bowel movement. I have had coronic constapiation all my life. I will be going with out insoulble foods for 1 month to really give my colon a chance to re-coop. Thank you so much for your web-site.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hello Linda,

Thank you for your review.

You can find tons of recipes on our site as well: http://www.helpforibs.com/diet/recipes.asp

You may find more options that do not include any of the foods you are sensitive to.

I hope this helps!

Joanna Ricken
Heather's Tummy Care Representative

55555 Product1189 Connie from PHILADELPHIA, PA
Purchased on 2/27/2012
Reviewed on 3/19/2012
The products are very helpful
I will be using them for a long time
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1162 Rebecca from Burlington, ON
Purchased on 1/31/2012
Reviewed on 3/13/2012
great book
I bought this book for myself and found it to be very informative and packed full of great recipe ideas, so I gave it to my Auntie with similar digestive issues. she liked the book so much she decided to keep it :)
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1155 Carol from Grandville, MI
Purchased on 2/19/2012
Reviewed on 3/12/2012
What a difference! When I stick to recipes that come for this book, I'm healthy, When I don't, not so much.
Only the recipe for dried bananas has been a disappointment, but that may be the fault of my oven. I've had a couple of other baked recipes that didn't turn out properly in to also
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1100 Brenda from Summerville, SC
Purchased on 2/14/2012
Reviewed on 3/7/2012
recipes
I found the book to be beneficial to me in some ways, but find the recipes "sorta" out of reach for me to do. Money wise my budget only allows for a few items. I know we should eat more "organic" and these recipes look great, but on a fixed income I will not be able to do many. I am trying to change many things about my diet that I can. thanks
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Brenda - thank you so much for your feedback. Can you please let me know the specific ingredients you're struggling to find or that are too costly? Let me know and I might have some suggestions for good alternatives.

There is a very wide range of recipes in the book - some are fancy enough for holiday dinner parties but many are fast and easy for quick meals. If there are ingredients you don't like you can probably simply omit them.

If you give me an idea of what kind of cooking you're looking for I can suggest specific recipes in the book for you that would be fast, easy, inexpensive, and simple.

Best,
Heather

55555 Product1101 Stephen from Maryville, MO
Purchased on 2/15/2012
Reviewed on 3/7/2012
very helpfull
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product1115 Ana from Ballwin, MO
Purchased on 2/15/2012
Reviewed on 3/7/2012
Really enjoying all the wonderful recipes and realizing I can have delicious foods without pain or gas
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product1084 Jean from Easthampton, MA
Purchased on 2/14/2012
Reviewed on 3/6/2012
Learned a lot about trigger foods
My problem is not only IBS but also type 2 diabetes. Still having problems and the whole thing is turning me into a hermit. Very nervous about going anywhere.l
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Dear Jean,

We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with both shipping and costumer service!

I looked up your order and noticed it was shipped the day after you placed it and was delivered two business days later. Would you mind clarifying the shipping issue so we can avoid making the same mistake in the future?

In addition, please let us know how we could improve our customer service as we pride ourselves on taking excellent care of our customers.

Related to your comment about having both IBS and diabetes: Diets ritch in soluble fiber have terrific advantages for people with diabetes. Soluble fiber slows the rate of carbohydrate absorption (this gives an advantage to taking Acacia right before a meal), improves regulation of blood sugar, and lowers insulin requirements. Soluble fiber also decreases LDL ("bad") blood cholesterol levels, and therefore reduces the risk of heart disease, which is a serious risk for diabetics.

Please let me know if you have additional questions. We look forward to hearing how we can improve your shopping experience with Heather's Tummy Care.

Best regards,

Joanna Robinson

Heather's Tummy Care Representative

4444 Product1041 Christine from Orange, CA
Purchased on 2/7/2012
Reviewed on 2/28/2012
I found this book extremely helpful. It answered a lot of questions I've had for years.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

22 Product1016 Clint from Orangeburg, SC
Purchased on 2/2/2012
Reviewed on 2/23/2012
Reasons for low rating of cookbook
Heather, I live in a small town in South Carolina, and so many of the products required are not available here whatsoever. I am on disability and cannot afford to order all the special products either. I also cannot easily get to Columbia, 45 miles away, to try and find them without a great deal of difficulty. I apologize for having to just tell you the truth, but for those of us who are disabled and living in more rural areas, the cookbook just is not that helpful, plus some of the recipes just have far far too many ingredients, including those which are unobtainable. But thank you for trying to write a cookbook for people nonetheless.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says: Feedback Rating
Hi Clint -

I'm so sorry you're unhappy with the book. You are welcome to return it at any time for a full refund.

Can you let me know the specific ingredients you're struggling to find? Just about everything that used to be only at health food markets has now made its way into mainstream grocery stores, even in rural areas. Let me know and I might have some suggestions. You shouldn't have to special order any ingredients at all for the recipes.

There is a very wide range of recipes in the book - some are fancy enough for holiday dinner parties but many are fast and easy for quick meals. If there are ingredients you don't like you can probably simply omit them.

If you give me an idea of what kind of cooking you're looking for I can suggest specific recipes in the book for you that would be fast, easy and simple.

If you lean towards fast and easy, traditional, all-American recipes you might also prefer the recipes in the Heather Cooks! DVD with recipe cards here http://www.helpforibs.com/shop/books/hcooks.asp .

Best,
Heather

55555 Product996 Amanda from Sanger, TX
Purchased on 1/31/2012
Reviewed on 2/21/2012
This book was more them helpful thank you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product988 Julie from Cloverdale, CA
Purchased on 1/26/2012
Reviewed on 2/20/2012
purchased book and liked it so much I am getting another
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product975 Deneyl from Diamondville, WY
Purchased on 1/26/2012
Reviewed on 2/16/2012
I got alot of information from the book
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product878 Thersa from Wellington, NS
Purchased on 12/22/2011
Reviewed on 2/2/2012
Love the recipes in this book, tasty and great
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product781 Mary from Mamaroneck, NY
Purchased on 12/27/2011
Reviewed on 1/17/2012
Very helpful
I refer to the book for some hints on enhancing meals. It is a great help.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product720 Cynthia from California
Purchased on 12/17/2011
Reviewed on 1/9/2012
Incredible
Your Eating For IBS book is the most incredible thing in my life right now. It has opened doors to eating. My husband enjoys many of your recipes and during the holiday, I was able to make a carrot cake and peppermint fudge cake to bring to work. This made it possible for me to join in the celebration with deserts that I could eat when I would otherwise hide at my desk. You have no idea the freedom this has given me.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product724 Faye from Las Vegas, NV
Purchased on 12/18/2011
Reviewed on 1/9/2012
Eating advice and diet are exactly what I have been looking for
You are a godsend!! I am soooo grateful that I found your book and website. As I was reading through the trigger foods and insoluble fiber foods that worsen IBS symptoms--I knew that FINALLY someone knew what I was experiencing. I have had so many people tell me that IBS is due to Candida or all other sorts of things and I have tried all kinds of rememdies to no avail. Your eating advice and diet are so incredible and exactly what I have been looking for. Thank you for offering such a common sense, practical approach to living with IBS. Keep up the awesome work!!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product722 Lucia from New York
Purchased on 12/17/2012
Reviewed on 1/9/2012
Easy to read and great recipes
I purchased your book about a week ago and I can already feel the difference. I have made many of your recipes all of them have been delicious. I have been suffering apparently a long time, I just never had a name for what I have. My symptoms got worse after I became a lacto/ovo vegetarian. I did what most vegetarians do, I increased my fiber with whole grain cereal & breads, fresh fruits and veggies etc. Every morning after breakfast and many suppliments, I would run to the bathroom to vomit. No one had an answer. I went for an upper GI, with negative results, next being told I may be lactose intolerant I finally got a name from my Doctor....IBS. But no real information about how to live with followed, until I found your site. I can't thank you enough. I know people must write you everyday, praising you for all your work and efforts. Your book is easy to read, the recipes are delicious and it is chock full of the necessary information needed to live with this condition and live well.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product723 Paula from Reliance, Wyoming
Purchased on 12/13/2011
Reviewed on 1/9/2012
wonderful recipes
My name is Paula I am 26 years old and I have been diangnosed with Severe to moderate IBS it started here and there since I was Little but when I was 18 it got worse at first the doctors said it was lactose intolerance and alcers , then when I was 21 I was hospitalized for a week for severe stomach pain and i was bleeding, the doctors said that they think it was ibs and sent me on my wasy with no information then I got worse severe bloating , pain , and bleeding where I could not work ,eat , sleep up until 2004 where I reasearched the web and found you, joined your web site and bought your cook book also ended up seeing a gastentoligist found out what type of IBS , also had a Bacteria call H.pylori that also caused alcers in my stomach and I have reflux esphogus now I have had only a few attacks since your cook book and newsletter and they are not so bad you are angel if you ever find out more let me know.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product725 Barbara from Salt Lake City, UT
Purchased on 12/13/2011
Reviewed on 1/8/2012
I am so grateful.
I am a retired lady that has suffered with grastric (IBS) problems most of my life and lately it had accelerated, affected my whole life style, caused me pain, and embarrasment, etc. (In fact all the effects you listed in your wonderful book.) I too had been told that it was all in my head. It took me four days to find you on the internet -- I downloaded the tips sheets and ordered your book the next day. I followed you plan and had immediate results. The most important part to me was discovering the triggers. That was one month ago and I have not had an attack since. What is more exciting, two friends have gotten the same relief. The last shopping trip to stock up on the right foods had me talking with others in the store and I mailed them your tips sheets!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product726 Mary from Hartford, CT
Purchased on 11/27/2011
Reviewed on 1/8/2012
I have made a number of the recipes in your book over the last month and have yet to find one that I didn’t care for. It has opened up new food horizons for me and for that I thank-you.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

22 Product700 Nancy from American Fork, UT
Purchased on 12/13/2011
Reviewed on 1/7/2012
Complex large recipes
I am a single person with a simple appetite and budget. The recipes are for those who are cooking full family meals. Not for me. I am disappointed.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

4444 Product672 Wayne from West River, MD
Purchased on 12/9/2011
Reviewed on 1/4/2012
Another book full of educational info.
Followed guidelines,not squashing my symptoms however. Mabey I have to give it more time.This and it's sister book are quite comprehensive and far and away more helpful than any health care provider Iv'e met on this miserable journey. I only wish it would begin to give me my life back,perhaps soon.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

22 Product650 Patricia from Louisville, CO
Purchased on 12/13/2011
Reviewed on 1/3/2012
Not pleased with the book.
The IBS quick reference guide provides the same info and the recipes do not appeal to me at all living in Colorado it is too much seafood and to be honest other strange recipes.
Speed of Delivery
Heather says:
Hi Patricia - I'm so sorry you're unhappy with the book. You are welcome to return it at any time. I tried to give the widest range of recipes possible in Eating for IBS, so people had both all-American recipes and more creative, ethnic options as well. My goal was to cover the whole spectrum of tastes so there was something for everyone. If you don't care for seafood, feel free to substitute any kind of skinless white poultry meat you like, or if you prefer to use a vegetarian meat substitute that is fine too. If you lean towards fast and easy, traditional, all-American recipes you might prefer the recipes in the Heather Cooks! DVD with recipe cards.

Best,
Heather

333 Product577 Corrine from Springfield, MO
Purchased on 12/1/2011
Reviewed on 12/23/2011
I haven't been able to make a recipe yet.
Recipes are hard to make, as the ingredience are hard to find. There ia so much ingredience in most recipes, that it's almost overwhelming.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service
Heather says:
Hi Connie - are there specific ingredients you're struggling to find? Just about everything that used to be only at health food markets has now made its way into mainstream grocery stores. Let me know and I might have some suggestions. There is a very wide range of recipes in the book - some are fancy enough for holiday dinner parties and some are fast and easy for quick meals. If there are ingredients you don't like you can probably simply omit them. If there are specific recipes you have questions about just let me know.

Best,
Heather

4444 Product497 Loretta from Lavalette, WV
Purchased on 11/20/2011
Reviewed on 12/12/2011
Bought IBS book
I think the diet suggested in the book is going to help me.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product488 Elizabeth from Fulton, NY
Purchased on 11/19/2011
Reviewed on 12/10/2011
This is a well researched, informative book.
I was very impressed with this book. Many important facts not found even on websites supposedly dedicated to gastrointestinal problems were included in the book. As was stated, IBS is very individual. I think the recipes are very helpful for creating a varied diet. One can pick and choose what works. But I especially liked all of the tips for dealing with IBS, such as eating a less safe food AFTER eating soluble fiber. It is a solid, thorough and helpful book which has much information for people suffering with IBS. Thanks.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product444 Vickie from Weatherford, TX
Purchased on 11/12/2011
Reviewed on 12/3/2011
Great recipes!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product432 Valerie from Montgomery, TX
Purchased on 11/11/2011
Reviewed on 12/2/2011
Saved my life
Just when I was about to give up on myself, approaching my 70th birthday, I found your website. It has saved me from years of misery! Thanks
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product437 Shannon M.
Reviewed on 12/2/2011
REVERSING IBS!!! HEATHER YOUR AWESOME!!!
Dear Heather, I am 17, and have had food issues, originally thought to be allergies, for at least three years or more. At first, it seemed to be certain things like carrots and cabbage, but last year, it increased to the point where it almost seemed as though everything I ate caused diareaha, constipation, and even widespread muscle and joint pain. This led to the idea that perhaps I had fybromyalgia, and I went on with that idea until I noticed that all of my food issues had one thing in common: Beta carotine, or Vitamin A. I know now that it was merely a coincidence, that the vegatables containing high amounts of insoluable fiber also contain beta carotine, but at the time i thought that it alone was the source of my troubles. Long story shorter, after going to my doctor, he directed me to an allergist, who diagnosed me with IBS. Even after I had an actual diagnosis, I still didnt know what to do. I employed the mighty power of google, but still any true answers, much less a cure, was not to be found. I was beginning to struggle with self pity until I spoke to a person I respect very much, a former sunday school teacher of mine. She told me that she had had IBS over twenty years ago, and because of careful eating, she was able to reverse her IBS completely! So I started doing what this lady had done. I stayed away from citrus, from spicy foods, and I ate a lot of bread, rice and pasta. I took Tums before and after every meal, I drank a considerable amount of water, and I switched from regular milk to soy milk. And gradually my stomach settled down. and then I snuck in a candy bar or two. and then it was orange juice, and maybe a french fry here and there. And lo and behold, it's been four months and I am having virtually no problem with my IBS! In my early days of diagnosis, I ran across your website, and IT WAS A GODSEND. I had NO Idea that there were two kinds of fiber, much less that one of them could actually hurt me! I'm sorry this is sort of long, but I am SO grateful to you because IM REVERSING MY IBS!!! I can eat virtually anything i want WITHOUT Tums! I'm able to eat more food, and I had a great big salad the other day for the first time in MONTHS. It felt fantastic to eat salad!! I feel like I have my life back! Thank you so much!!!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

333 Product332 Jacqueline from New Franken, WI
Purchased on 10/24/2011
Reviewed on 11/19/2011
It was okay
What worked for Heather doesn't work for me, however I am at the just bread stage, nothing is working.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product259 Angelina from Howell, NJ
Purchased on 10/13/2011
Reviewed on 11/17/2011
domestic goddess
i have read this book from front to back. everything in it is so true. especially where it says that doctors really dont want to talk about it. well, listen to this. i had a egd test to find out whats wrong with my stomache and when i went back in 2 weeeks to see the doc, i told him about heathers web site and i even gave him a packet to try. he really said nothing but we doctors think that ibs is a mind over matter stress related syndrome. i said well doc, if my ibs was stress related, i should be dead.i have had it for 16 years. no response to this from him. so listen up people..this is the only thing i take..also fighting cancer and its all organic..love ya heather. go on tv..dr. oz....please tell every one, i will!
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product283 Dominique from douglasville, GA
Purchased on 10/25/2011
Reviewed on 11/17/2011
Merry Christmas to me !
I just start to use the book "Eating for IBS" and l think this year my Christmas will be so much better than boiled potatoes and rice, l am so glad l have this book !
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product295 Rosemarie from Patchogue, NY
Purchased on 10/13/2011
Reviewed on 11/17/2011
I also sent for Tummy Care and tea. The book was very informative and helped me a great deal while I was on vacation recently. Thank you
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product18 Sherry
Reviewed on 10/30/2011
Hi Heather, I'm 28 years old and have been recently diagnosed with IBS
I have been suffering for the past 10 years with this disorder, never knowing what to do about it. When my doctor told me what I had, I honestly looked at him like he had three heads, I had no idea what it meant. I went on the internet and came across your website and I have to tell you, you are an angel!! Your website is so full of information, I don't feel like I have been left alone to deal with this. My sister has gastritis and deals with similar symptoms. I'm going to encourage her to read your book as well, I know she will only benefit from your knowledge. You are a true inspiration!! It's a difficult disorder to deal with, not to mention embarrassing. Especially for women, society doesn't exactly make it an acceptable disorder to live with. I'm also going to tell my friends about your book and anyone else who will listen, whether they like it or not!! I've been trying your suggestions and tips for eating and I have to say I am feeling better. I even went away over the weekend and I picked out only the foods I knew wouldn't bother me. I have to say, I went the whole weekend without an attack. Thank you!! I would be more than happy to have you quote me on your website. That's how I came to buying the book. The testimonials really sold me. I no longer feel alone and I'm so glad that we have someone like you who really cares!! I will definitely write the shows you told me about, they really need to be aware that this has been an ongoing problem. The more information people have access to, the better. I will absolutely do my best for you, for you have been there for all of us!! Best wishes and be well!! It takes a special person to share their experiences with strangers. Being open and honest has turned those strangers into friends. Keep up the great work and god bless!!

55555 Product17 Anneke
Reviewed on 6/16/2011
Dear Heather, I have just recently found out that I too have been suffering from IBS
For years now I thought that what was happening to me was just in my mind, but when the pain of the stomach cramps and nausea just became unbearable I decided to go to the doctor, and found out the I had IBS, I never even heard of it before. And was thinking that I would have to just give up everything "yummy" in my life. but thanks to you and your book I now know I'm not alone and that there is something out there to help me. Thank you for doing this you have given me the chance to lead a normal healthy life!

55555 Product16 Trudy
Reviewed on 5/29/2011
I have had IBS for many years and recently have had more trouble with the condition
The prescription medicine I had been on for a year and a half wasn't even working like it did before. I lost 10 pounds in one month (not that I didn't need to lose any) as I was sick so much from the IBS. My husband saw an ad for your book, Eating for IBS. We bought the book and I started the diet immediately, following all of your recommendations. We even found a health food store that carried many of the soy products. Once I figured out the right amount and kind of calcium, etc. I had very little trouble with the IBS. Your book and diet was a "God-send". I have really enjoyed your book. (I have almost worn it out already.) It was packed with very helpful and useful information. I am looking forward to seeing future books that you write. Thank you so much for sharing. IBS no longer controls my life.

55555 Product148 Sandra
Reviewed on 3/30/2011
Hi Heather - I am a nurse!
Hi Heather, I am an RN, who works in a very busy GI practice and almost 60% of my patients have IBS. I just want to let you know that years ago I had IBS, the worst. I followed your books, IBS, The First Year, and eating for IBS and your web site, and believe it or not, after being faithful to it for about 2 years, my body seems to have less and less attacks , and now, for the past few years, I can count on one hand , how many I have had. I owe it all to you and your incredible knowledge about IBS. I can't tell you how many of my patients with IBS and are so frustrated and scared because they don't understand what is happening to them. Yes, they see the physician and they prescribe meds, and that seems to be about it, but then i take them aside and give them the name of your books and your web site, and encourge them all to get them and follow them exactly as you advise. I then tell them my story and how after a while, they can look forward to the fact that the attacks may go away, almost completely or be controlled, like myself. I have actually, finally, convinced many of the doctors in my practice to bring the patient to me ,when they are done, and let me speak to them about you. That took a while to happen. Doctors didn't seem to believe in it, but again, I am talking years and years ago and I just see it in the past 2 years , they seem to finally believe me now about your books. Back then, doctors just thought IBS was controlled only by controlling stresses and it is so much more than that. They would leave the pt feeling just as lost as when they came in . I feel like I am changing the way doctors ( at least in my practice ) just chuck it up to stress and there is nothing to do for it. Mostly, that has come to pass, by all the calls I get from my patients thanking me for telling them about you, and then when they see the doctor, they tell him about our talk and how I gave them such great advice about you. This is a good thing your doing and I will spend the rest of my medical career, telling my patients to buy your books and follow your advice, to the letter. I say this for myself and the hundreds of my patients, that have changed their lives and makes them less frightened when they see their belly grow. They now understand why, and that they are not dying or have cancer, and that there is help out there for them, and just more then some pills to take. It is so much more than that. I just wanted to thank you and let you know your doing an amazing job. I am very happy to have found you. I remember your website when you had a cooking demonstration video ,by you, on it. That was great. I will keep you updated on the successes of my patients. Sandra
Customer Service

55555 Product15 Barb
Reviewed on 3/14/2011
I just wanted to update you on how I am doing
I recently went on my first business trip since following your bible! I now carry with me a small extra suitcase (on wheels) that I now call my "traveling kitchen". It contains the following: your book, a pot to heat tea and water, instant oatmeal, snacks you recommended, small cans of Lite Fruit cups to add to oatmeal, fortune cookies, pretzels, graham crackers, small bowl, spoons and a sieve. ( I use the sieve to poor the leftover tea into a water bottle to have all day to drink as then it is at room temperature). I have my own breakfast in my room and can relax and take my time. Everyone kids me now about my "rolling kitchen" but its no joke for me because it WORKS! I leave next week again for business and I am re-stocking my "kitchen" tonight for next week. Keep me informed about your cooking show. Let me know! Thanks again, Barb

55555 Product14 Carole
Reviewed on 1/19/2011
Dear Heather, I love your book and my family is really enjoying your recipes
I am looking forward to your cooking show and your holiday cookbook. I've had IBS since December but it seems like forever. I have four children, who I have always put ahead of myself and I haven't been able to take care of them very well since my illness. Your book has taught me that in order for me to take care of my family, I have to take care of myself first. Thank you so much for writing Eating for IBS. I have been to 6 doctors and have been very discouraged. Because of your book, I now am hopeful that it is possible for me to feel normal again. I have already written to the Oprah show and I will write to others. Thanks again and please keep writing new recipes! UPDATE: I have been using your recipes from Eating for IBS for almost 2 months now and I am almost completely off medications. I take just a Levsin occasionally. Though I still don't feel like I used to, I am much better than was. Do you have any other books out yet? I am looking forward to learning some "safe" holiday recipes!. I am telling everyone I know about the book!

55555 Product13 Nelson
Reviewed on 11/26/2010
Hi, I am from England. I am amazed that I have found someone describing me
I got your book yesterday and have not put it down yet. I have suffered since 14 and I am now 43. WELL DONE. Thanks for your time.

55555 Product136 Rachael
Reviewed on 10/31/2010
I am feeling better than I have felt for 7 years!
Dear Heather - "Eating for IBS" was so helpful that I have given a copy to my GI doctor! He was so happy to receive the book since it is really difficult to find good literature about IBS. I am feeling better than I have felt for 7 years! Thank you, Heather. -Rachael

55555 Product87 Duane B.
Reviewed on 10/10/2010
Life Changing!
I just wanted to drop you a line to let you know that I have been an IBS sufferer for many years. I am now 45 years old and have been faithfully following Heather’s advise for the past 12 months and what a difference. I used to think that suffering with debilitating cramps and having to make excuses for not traveling too far from a washroom facility was going to be a part of my life forever. Boy was I wrong. By doing a search on the internet I found this website and I immediately went out and bought the book “Eating for IBS”. This book has changed my life. Not only is my wife much happier as I now do a large amount of the cooking and trying new recipes, but I have my life back with no worries about suffering an attack whatsoever. I can’t express how much this has changed the way I live my life on a day to day basis. Not only do I feel much better, but I’ve lost 30 lbs as an added bonus. I have taken up running (something which I wouldn’t even attempt in the past) and recently completed my first 5km run…and came in 6th. My family and friends have noticed a huge difference in my attitude and my physical appearance and I owe it all to that day where I decided to take my life back and visited your website for the first time. I have come across quite a few people in the past year who also suffer from IBS, and I’ve steered them to your book and your website. I suffered in silence because I thought I was one of a very few that had this syndrome, but have since come to find out that there are many more just like me. Thanks again, By all means go ahead and use my comments. It’s funny how many people I’ve run into in the last year that have IBS and are afraid to talk about it. I refer them to your website and your book and of course I’m living proof that there is help for IBS. I owe you and your book a great deal of gratitude and I know my family would say a huge THANK YOU as well…as the change in my life has meant a whole new attitude that they have noticed in a big way. Take Care and keep up the good work. Duane B.

55555 Product142 Debbie S.
Reviewed on 9/23/2010
Wow, what a difference this has made to my life.
I found your website about 3 weeks ago when looking for help with my IBS. I have had this for over 20years now and have managed it mainly through diet. This year has been quite a bad one for me and I have been struggling to sort my “tummy problems” out. I found your website and read your newsletter where you explained the difference and importance between soluble and non soluble fibre. Wow, what a difference this has made to my life. My IBS is so much better, my headaches, which I put down to computer work, have almost disappeared and I am losing weight! Fantastic. I would just like to say a big THANK YOU for all your help and advice in your newsletters. I am coming over to Florida next year; can your products be bought in stores? Thanks again You certainly can use my comments for the website and Newsletter. I really can’t say how much better I am feeling and I am so happy I found your website. Thanks very much for your help. Debbie S.

55555 Product12 J.N.
Reviewed on 9/16/2010
Dear Heather: this morning, I went to see my gastroenterologist
Dr. Dean Rider from UCSF (University of CA, San Francisco). He has always been nice and supportive, but he was pretty helpless regarding my horrible IBS symptoms. I always thought my IBS is psychosomatic myself but when I was so happy last year and my stomach was convulsing I finally had enough. That's when I did a search and found your website. I wanted to talk to Dr. Rider in person: I told him (as you know from my previous e-mail) how much better I am and that after 2 days using your diet my symptoms went from a constant 7 (scale from 1-10) with outbreaks on top of it and waking up during the night to a constant 2-3. AFTER 2 DAYS!!! He could not believe it. So I told him he needs to tell all his IBS patients about your website. And he has lots of them because he is a gastroenterologist. And they drive him nuts because he doesn't know what to do with them. He told me when he does colonoscopies he can tell whether someone has IBS because their guts spasm like crazy upon touch. The office assistant told me she has "crying IBS patients" that ask her what to eat all the time and she doesn't know what to say. She urged me to send her a fax today because of a particular patient that came in crying yesterday that she could not help. I faxed the basics from your website (soluble fiber, insoluble fiber, gastrocolic reflex) including the IBS Cheat Sheet over to them. I also gave Dr. Rider the website address, told him about fiber supplements and showed him the peppermint capsules. I hope it helps that I am a physician (neurologist) so that they listen and lots of people get better. THANKS AGAIN FOR EVERYTHING - YOU ARE AWESOME - AND YOU CHANGED MY LIFE. Yours sincerely, J.N., M.D., Assistant Professor, UCSF San Francisco, CA

55555 Product11 Deborah
Reviewed on 8/17/2010
Dear Heather, If I only had the adequate words to express my feelings for you and what you've done for me
You did not give me my life back. You GAVE me A LIFE.......a life I've never, ever known. Sick is a word that cannot encompass my world of torment and pain. I've been afflicted with this problem since I was 5 years old (IBS-D), I am now in my 40's. My entire life, sometimes up to 3 times a week, suffering with crippling spasms for never ending hours upon hours. The excruciating spasms are what I find the most horrifying thing I have to live with. Vomiting from pain, pouring sweat, trying endlessly to get home as soon as I feel the very first inkling of a spasm. I honest to God, have always felt like I was going to die. I would simply dread every occasion, holiday, or even planning a vacation a year from now. I cannot live where I'd like to because any distance at all from my job, is too far when an attack is coming over me. My best case scenario would have been setting up a cot next to my desk. I can't even imagine how I still have a job. The humiliation of explaining my situation to every boss, boyfriend/husband and girlfriend is something I just can't seem to get used to because no one gets it. Basically they all have that same uncomfortable expression on their face (like, are we finished talking about this freaky subject yet?) Occasionally, some people would even say to me "Oh yea, I get cramps too when I have to go to the bathroom." I would become infuriated saying, NO, that is not what this is! I feel like I'm in labor pain! I'd say, "How would you like to feel like you're having a baby every week?" I don't know, it all just feels so much worse then those three letters... I-B-S. To top it off, I have a form of endometriosis. This is a very grim picture of a life. So.... in a constant state of depression, the doctors, who by the way, all acknowledged that it was IBS, told me it was nerves, nerves, nerves. That was the cause, period, amen. It's true. My whole family are totally nervous worriers and we all have the same condition although mine is the most severe of all of us (is this inherited?), so I really never thought for a minute, that the food I ate was antagonizing an already chronically inflamed colon. I didn't want to write you until I really felt absolutely certain of myself. It's been an extraordinary, unbelievable, incredible, UNTHINKABLE 7 months since my last attack!!! I feel like I'm dreaming. I keep standing in front of my calendar, counting, counting. I'm obsessed with counting the days. This can't be happening - - - can it??? My family keeps calling me asking, Still, STILL??? Doctor, after test, after pill and along comes Heather and Acacia. You should win the noble prize for that alone! I would scream it out to the entire world if I could, Acacia, Acacia, Acacia. There is no other word for it but... Miracle. You are my miracle. Finding you, is the single best thing that will ever happen to me in my entire life and I thank God for you. I now walk up and down my floor at work, watching people, listening to them talking, ordering food, laughing, smiling, all with no hint of worry or trace of fear and I say..... My God..... so this is what it feels like? A way of life and a feeling of peace I've never known before. A life that people take for granted. I make your delicious breads and eat it everyday for breakfast but quite honestly, I only eat turkey for lunch at work right now because it really agrees with me and I'm still fearful but I'm sure that very soon, as I become more confident I will be branching out. Aside from the 3 tablespoons of the Acacia everyday, I also take your peppermint caps and one probiotic, recommended by a friend's Doctor. Maybe you can advise me if it's even worth taking. I'm still working on acquiring a taste for the fennel tea. Heather, I'll love you with all my heart until the day I die. ( I can't have any children but I swear, my next kitty is going to be called "Heather") I'm Serious! If I didn't think it would traumatize my little Mia, I'd rename her now. (teehee. All My Love and Forever Grateful, Deborah

55555 Product143 Linda P.
Reviewed on 8/2/2010
This is a letter of gratitude for your book Eating for IBS.
This is a letter of gratitude for your book Eating for IBS. As you can see from my photograph, the book has been extremely well used! When I developed and was diagnosed with IBS about 8 years ago, I was given little guidance regarding diet. Desperate to manage the pain, I searched the bookstores in Toronto where I live. All I came across were IBS cookbooks that gave recipes for things I knew from experience would trigger spasms, such as fats and raw vegetables. Then I found your book on the shelf, and even reading bits of it in the store made me realize that at last I had found someone who “got it”! Since then I have used your recipes and followed your eating guidelines religiously with tremendous results. If I stick to the program—and I haven’t found it onerous to do so because the recipes are so delicious—then most of the time I am symptom-free. I have made almost every recipe in the book, most of them many, many times. My husband loves good food and can eat anything, yet he does not feel he has suffered at all from eating on my diet! Now that he has to cut back on fats himself, he is glad to have this assistance as well. I really appreciate all the effort and concern for others that you have put into the book. I simply cannot imagine life without it. It’s obvious I need a new copy, but mine is so well marked that I don’t think I am ready to replace it! Sincerely, Linda P.

55555 Product10 Phyllis
Reviewed on 7/13/2010
I just want to thank you for all the wonderful information that is in your book
It has changed my life!! I used to be afraid to basically leave the house. I have struggled and not known what my real problem was until I discovered your website. I am so grateful and could go on forever about all the benefits I have enjoyed since I have "learned how to eat to live"! That is what it feels like to me. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

55555 Product9 Vida
Reviewed on 4/7/2010
Hi, your book is wonderful
It has helped me immensely in the fast few months. I have had IBS for about 10 years undiagnosed, of course! I went to another doctor about 6 months ago and described my symptoms and right away he told me what he thought it to be. He directed me to the internet and suggested further testing to confirm his diagnosis. I found your site and got your book right away. Needless to say I am feeling much better.

55555 Product8 Emily
Reviewed on 2/7/2010
Heather, I love you so much
I have suffered from IBS for two years, since the age of 9 or 10. I started to feel a lot better until recently when I had a cheesecake. I got really sick again and I may not have any junk food for the rest of my life but I don't care, as long as I have Eating for IBS. There is so much more to eat than starving. My personal favorite to make with help from my grateful mother is Honey Glazed Snack Mix! I now have food to eat! Thank you for this amazing book. My IBS was terrible at first, we didn't know what it was. We had doctor examinations, a cat scan, and went to the gastrointestinal doctor (I'm only 12 years old I may spell things wrong) who said have fiber and toast! Yuck boy I was sick of toast the first week! Thank you so much for this book!

55555 Product7 Kevin
Reviewed on 1/13/2010
Heather, You are an Angel of Mercy
The things I have learned from reading the first few pages of your book are incredibly helpful. This weekend I am going to try the banana bread. Already the peppermint tea and some of the quick foods you mentioned have made a difference. Thank you so much for sharing your diet experience with the rest of us. Godspeed, Kevin Wells, IBS and diverticulosis sufferer

55555 Product73 Karen D.
Reviewed on 12/17/2009
Please accept my thanks for this book!
Dear Heather, I want to extend my deepest thanks to you and your truly humanitarian efforts. I have suffered from GI problems my entire life, but my symptoms have gradually been getting worse with age. About a year and a half ago, a medical professional suggested that I may have IBS. I’m embarrassed to say that I didn’t know what it was, so I immediately looked online for information and stumbled upon your site. It was very clear that you are the premier source for everything related to digestive disorders. Without delay, I subscribed to your newsletters and purchased your products, including “Eating for IBS.” However, I did not really “do” anything about the IBS because I had yet to be officially diagnosed. I went through all of the required medical testing, where everything else was ruled out. All that was left was a visit to a gastroenterologist for confirmation. A year after the IBS was first suggested to me, I received the official diagnosis from the doctor. And yet I still resisted implementing your program. Believe it or not, it sounded too unbelievably easy to actually be true! Now, 2009 was a very busy year for me: I went through 5 surgical procedures, one of which was abdominal. These surgeries (especially the abdominal one) greatly aggravated my symptoms. There wasn’t a single moment of any day for months that I was not bloated and in pain. Enough was enough and I finally broke down and began to “Eat for IBS.” Much to my astonishment, it actually worked! Within 1-2 weeks of following your IBS dietary guidelines, my bloating subsided, my pain was gone, and I actually felt like a person with a normal gut (a little side benefit is that I lost 10 lbs., which I needed to lose). Thanks to you, I am armed with a veritable cornucopia of not only delicious recipes, but also the knowledge to easily modify my favorite recipes with “safe” substitutes. And, unless I “stray,” I remain virtually symptom-free. It’s pretty easy to say “no” to trigger foods when you feel so good walking the safe path. But, the true test for me was a long trip over Thanksgiving. Over the past few years, traveling has been a nightmare filled with pain, bloating, and intestines that decided to go on strike and just shut down production completely. However, I can proudly say that, food-wise, this was the easiest trip in many, many years where I felt great and remained “regular” (which is really shocking). So, Heather, please accept my heartfelt gratitude. You are not just any vendor. You are a person filled with compassion who works tirelessly to ease the suffering of so many afflicted individuals. You have truly saved me from a life of suffering. With sincere thanks, Karin D.
Speed of Delivery
Customer Service

55555 Product144 Mrs. Wilson
Reviewed on 11/20/2009
THANK YOU!
Hello, I have been a sufferer for many years w/IBS and been recently diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis. I just purchased Eating for IBS and cannot put the book down. After many years of suffering, I finally decided to get my life back in order! I got so depressed not knowing what to eat, but after reading your book and seeing all of the recipes I was so happy to see that I can actually eat again! I have been struggling over the last year between eating the foods that trigger IBS and food that triggers the Colitis. I also have GERD. I would say I have the triple whammy! One food is good for one and some foods are bad for others. I am writing down everything which has helped a lot. I just want to say THANK YOU for such a wonderful book. I will purchase the other book re: colitis. Keep up the great work! You are a God send! I would like to add that I have lost 6 pounds since I started eating healthy in one week and have more energy than ever!!!!! I never take the stairs at work and this morning I was able to walk them without any pain or breathing problems. I truly do feel much better! Thank you again. Mrs. Wilson Akron, Ohio

55555 Product145 Ellen
Reviewed on 10/26/2009
So Thankful to You
Dear Heather, I hope this is the correct email address to send you a personal note of thanks. I suffered from innumerable stomach complaints all through my childhood, but IBS was never diagnosed. When I was in my early twenties, my internist told me I had “spastic colon” due to stress, and she prescribed anti-spasmodic pills to take at the onset of pain. I never knew, though, when that would be, and by the time I felt pain and took a pill, it was too late to do any good. I soon stopped taking the pills. I suffered for years and years and years until I stumbled upon your site. (I am now 47.) I cannot begin to tell you how extremely thankful I am to you. Changing my diet—changing the order in which I eat foods—has been a lifesaver. I never, ever would have discovered that on my own. I was a little hesitant at first and showed your suggestions to my (different) internist. He had me check it out with a registered dietician at our local hospital. She gave me the “okay” to start my new diet using your “Cheat Sheet” guidelines. Gone are the days that I would be driving, miles from a bathroom, and would experience immediate, excruciating, cramping pain that would come in spasms that I knew could only be relieved by diarrhea. I would try to drive as doubled over with pain as I was. I cannot begin to tell you how miserable I was. I never knew when it would hit me or where I would be, and so I lived in a lot of fear of doing things out in public. Because I would have diarrhea almost every day, I was always making sure I knew where the closest bathroom was located. I wonder sometimes how many nutrients my body was actually able to absorb with all that diarrhea. Ever since I found your site (about two years ago) and followed your advice, I have been “normal.” It is an incredible feeling. I can’t believe people who don’t have IBS actually live this way every day. I am beginning to take a “normal” stomach for granted, and I know I shouldn’t given my past history. You have made it possible for me to do things in public again without the nagging fear that I may have to make a beeline for a bathroom with unbearable pain and diarrhea. I am so absolutely indebted to you. You really changed/saved my life Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Sincerely, Ellen O.
Customer Service




Home | Shop for IBS | STORE FINDER
IBS Discussions & Message Boards | IBS News & Reviews | IBS Support Groups

IBS Diet | IBS Recipes | IBS Books | IBS Supplements | Yoga for IBS | Hypnosis for IBS
IBS Tummy Teas™ | Irritable Bowel Syndrome Glossary | IBS Symptoms
IBS Treatments | IBS Diet Plan | IBS Diarrhea | IBS Constipation
IBS Bloating & Stomach Gas | IBS Abdominal Pain | IBS Quick Tips

About Us | IBS Links | Search this Site | Site Map | Shipping & Returns | Privacy & Security
Contact Us | For Doctors & Dietitians | Wholesale | Co-packing Services

© 1999-2014, HelpForIBS.com.
USA Copyright Office Registration Number TXU 1-270-858 and others
All information & art is proprietary and may not be duplicated.
All rights reserved.

Help for IBS Legal & Medical Disclaimer
Help for IBS Trademarks